Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Call Number Charts & Maps - For Website Use

Call number ranges for materials at Bobst Library and where to find them in the building..

Overview

Bobst Call Number Ranges and Floor Maps

Call Number Floor
A, B, C, D–DS, oversize A-C 4th floor
DT-DZ, E, F, G, H-HA, oversize D-HA 6th floor
M 7th floor
P, HB-HJ 8th floor
HM-HZ, J, K, L, N, Q, R, S, T, U, V, Z 9th floor
Study Collection Mezz
Avery Fisher Center 7th floor
British Parliamentary Papers 8th floor north
Children's Literature 6th floor
East Asian Materials Request materials via library catalog
Special Collections Center 2nd floor
Journals & Newspapers, Current Issues 9th floor (northwest)
Leisure Books LL1, LL2
Microform LL2
Reserve Collection 1st floor at the Circulation & Reserve Services desk
Reference Collection 9th floor (northwest)
U.S., UN, & International Documents  6th floor
Bobst Floor Maps

Lower Level 2 (LL2)

Lower Level 2 (LL2): Bobst Library

 

LOWER LEVEL 1 (LL1)

Lower Level 1: Bobst Library

 

FLOOR 1

1st floor: Bobst Library

 

MEZZANINE

Mezzanine: Bobst Library

 

FLOOR 2

Floor 2 of Bobst. South side Special Collections Center with gallery, reception, and reading rooms. East side special collections classrooms 251-253, and Bobst Seminar room. West side: staff offices. Bathrooms and fire exits northeast and southeast corners.

 

 

 

 

FLOOR 3 - Closed for Renovation

3rd floor Bobst Library closed for renovation.

 

FLOOR 4

4th floor: Bobst Library

 

FLOOR 5

5th floor: Bobst Library

 

FLOOR 6

6th floor: Bobst Library

 

 

FLOOR 7

7th floor: Bobst Library

 

FLOOR 8

8th floor: Bobst Library

 

FLOOR 9

9th floor: Bobst Library

 

FLOOR 10 - Closed, staff only.

10th floor: Bobst Library

Understanding Call Numbers

A call number identifies the physical location of an item in the collection. NYU Libraries uses the Library of Congress (LOC) Classification System. 

  • A call number always begins with a letter (or letters)
  • The first letter of the call number broadly identifies the item's subject matter:
    • ‚ÄčA: General Works
    • B: Philosophy. Psychology. Religion
    • C: Auxiliary Sciences Of History
    • D: World History And History Of Europe, Asia, Africa, Australia, New Zealand, Etc.
    • E-f: History Of The Americas
    • G: Geography. Anthropology. Recreation
    • H: Social Sciences
    • J: Political Science
    • K: Law
    • L: Education
    • M: Music And Books On Music
    • N: Fine Arts
    • P: Language And Literature
    • Q: Science
    • R: Medicine
    • S: Agriculture
    • T: Technology
    • U: Military Science
    • V: Naval Science
    • Z: Bibliography. Library Science. Information Resources (General)