Skip to Main Content

Writing & Stylistics Guides

General Guides for Writing in the Arts & Humanities

A Short Handbook for Writing Essays in the Humanities and Social Sciences by Dan Allosso; Salvatore Allosso
Call Number: NYU Shanghai Library (China) Reference (LB41 .S47 2011 Non-circulating)
ISBN: 1466229101
Student's Writing Guide to the Arts and Social Sciences by Gordon Taylor
ISBN: 9780511621079
Stylish Academic Writing by Helen Sword
ISBN: 9780674065093
Writing Essays by Turley
ISBN: 9780203186282
Publication Date: 2000-09-01
The Elements of Academic Style: Writing for the Humanities by Eric Hayot
ISBN: 9780231537414

Art & Art History

How to Write about Contemporary Art by Gilda Williams
Call Number: NYU Shanghai (China) Main Collection (N7476 .W544 2014 )
ISBN: 9780500291573
A Short Guide to Writing about Art by Sylvan Barnet
Call Number: NYU Shanghai (China) Main Collection (N7476 .B37 2015 )
ISBN: 9780205886999

Film/Cinema Studies

Short Guide to Writing about Film by Timothy Corrigan
Call Number: NYU Shanghai (Main Collection) (PN1995 .C66 2012 )
ISBN: 9780205236398

History

Writing History by William Kelleher Storey
Call Number: NYU Shanghai Library (China) Main Collection (D16 .S864 2013)
ISBN: 9780199830046
Writing History by Stefan Berger (Editor, Series edited by); Heiko Feldner (Series edited by, Editor); Kevin Passmore (Series edited by, Editor)
Call Number: NYU Shanghai (China) Main Collection (D13.W75 W75 2020 )
ISBN: 9781474255882
Publication Date: 2020-04-02

Literature

The Wiley Guide to Writing Essays about Literature by Paul Headrick
ISBN: 9781118571484
Writing about Literature by Judith Woolf
ISBN: 9780203504901
Writing Essays about Literature by Kelley Griffith
Call Number: NYU Shanghai (China) Main Collection (PN83 .G72 2014)
ISBN: 9781133307297
Writing essays about literature: a brief guide for university and college students by Katherine O. Acheson
Call Number: (LB2369 .A237 2011)
ISBN: 9781551119922
The Handbook to Literary Research by Delia da Sousa Correa (Editor); W. R. Owens (Editor)
ISBN: 9780203873335
Bedford Glossary of Critical and Literary Terms
Call Number: NYU Shanghai (China) Reference (PN44.5 .M86 2018)
ISBN: 9781319035396

Philosophy

Philosophical Writing by A. P. Martinich
ISBN: 9781119010050
Critical Reasoning and Philosophy by Mark Holowchak
ISBN: 9781442205239
Writing Philosophy by Lewis Vaughn
ISBN: 9780195179569
Publication Date: 2005-11-10

Religious Studies

Making Sense in Religious Studies by Margot Northey; Bradford A. Anderson; Joel N. Lohr
Call Number: NYU Shanghai (China) Main Collection (BL41 .N67 2012 )
ISBN: 9780195439526