Accessing Current News

If you are looking for a publication not listed above, search for it using the Books & More tab in BobCat. This system will search across our databases and list the ones containing full-text articles from your publication. Check the date ranges for each one and choose the one containing the date you need. If there are multiple that include your date, choose whichever one you like!

If you are looking for articles from the most recent issue (or any specific issue) you may need to browse or filter articles by date. 

If you are looking for a specific article, follow this same process to first find the database where the newspaper or magazine is available and then search or browse within the database to get to the specific article you need.

The publications listed above highlight just a fraction of the newspapers and news magazines that are available. For a more comprehensive list, please visit the News & Newspapers link under the Content-Specific header on the Articles & Databases tab of BobCat. 

Q: How do I access the most recent articles from the Financial Times?

A: Current articles from the Financial Times are available in print on the 9th floor of the Bobst Library, in the current periodicals and newspapers section. The Financial Times embargoes their articles for one month after publication, meaning that we cannot provide online access to them during that time. There are some other publishers who embargo their articles as well.  

Q: Why can't I see the images and layout in the online version?

A: When articles are archived in databases they are typically stripped of their formatting and images. If you need to see how an article appeared on the page or if you need the images, you may need to view the physical version or a scan of one. First, check if your publication is included on PressReader. If it's not, search for the publication title in BobCat or swing by the Current Periodicals Room on the 3rd Floor of Bobst (or see the box/table above for a current list) to see if we have it. If you can't find it in any of those locations, you may need to order it via Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

Q: Do we have access to the digital version of the New York Times?

A: Unfortunately, no, the libraries does not currently have a site license for all of the content on nytimes.com. However, through our subscriptions the NYU Libraries has access to the full-text of the current editions of the New York Times, images and full text of historical editions (there is a rolling embargo of the most current three years), and some NYT video content.   

Q: Does NYU have student discounts for any newspaper subscriptions?

A: NYU does not provide discounted subscriptions to any publications. However, many major media companies offer student discounts for their publications.