The Valley of the Shadow provides details about the lives of two communities, one Northern and the other Southern, during the Civil War. Included are original diaries, letters, newspapers, speeches, census and church records. Tools used: Apache Lucene, Apache Solr, Cocoon.
The Rossetti Archive features materials by and about the nineteenth-cenury Victorian painter, designer, writer and translator, Dante Gabriel Rossetti. Among the resources on this website are books, manuscripts, correspondence, pictures, and poems. The tools used are: Collex, XML.
The World of Dante is a multi-media resource that facilitates the study of the Divine Comedy including encoded Italian text, which allows for structured searches and analyses. The World of Dante also has an English translation, interactive maps, diagrams, music, a database, timeline, and gallery of illustrations.
The mark Twain Project offers access to a variety of Mark Twain's writings, including texts, exhaustive notes, recently discovered letters, and documents relating to the author. Tools used in this project are: XML, STF, TEI, METS, MADS, MODS, DTD
"The Blake Archive was conceived as an international public resource that would provide unified access to major works of visual and literary art that are highly disparate, widely dispersed, and more and more often severely restricted as a result of their value, rarity, and extreme fragility."
"This site provides a clearinghouse for discovering and sharing links to eighteenth-century primary materials. Eighteenth-Century Book Tracker aims to build a database of bibliographically accurate records that link to freely-available texts online. By pooling its users’ expertise, the site brings bibliographical order to the sometimes haphazard world of mass digitization. This site is devoted to pre