The following resources provide film, digital video, CD-ROM, DVD, images, and audio useful to research in anthropology and its related subfields. Streaming videos are viewable online to all NYUAD students, faculty, and staff.
Anthropology Online brings together a wide range of written ethnographies, field notes, seminal texts, memoirs, and contemporary studies, covering human behavior the world over. Essential for study in the areas of politics, economics, history, psychology, environmental studies, religion, area studies, linguistics, and geography, the database will contain more than over 100,000 pages of full-text material at completion, including tens of thousands of pages of previously unpublished material from major archives.
Ethnographic Video Online is a resource for the study of human culture, behavior and society around the world. The collection contains over 1,300 hours of video, including ethnographic films, documentaries, select feature films, and previously unpublished fieldwork footage.
The EVIA Digital Archive Project is a collaborative endeavor to create a digital archive of ethnographic field video for use by scholars and instructors. Funded since 2001 by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation with significant contributions from Indiana University and the University of Michigan, the Project has been developed through the joint efforts of ethnographic scholars, archivists, librarians, technologists, and legal experts. Beyond the primary mission of digitally preserving ethnographic field video, the EVIA Project has also invested significantly in the creation of software and systems for the annotation, discovery, playback, peer review, and scholarly publication of video and accompanying descriptions.
The PBS video collection provides streaming access to selected documentaries and programs produced by the Public Broadcasting Service. Coverage runs from the 1970s to present day, and spans a wide range of topics including history, science and technology, diversity studies, business, current events, and biographies. Highlights include programs from Frontline, NOVA, American Experience, Odyssey, and films by Ken Burns and Michael Wood.
Podcasts from the Oxford University School of Anthropology and Museum Ethnography. The School is renowned for its contributions to anthropological theory, its commitment to long-term ethnographic fieldwork, and its association with the Pitt Rivers Museum and the anthropology of visual and material culture.
AnthroBites is a new series from the designed to make anthropology more digestible. Each episode tackles a key concept, text, or theme, and breaks it down into manageable, bite-sized chunks. AnthroPod features interviews with anthropologists about their work, experiences in the field, and current events. Both podcast are produced and presented by the journal Cultural Anthropology.
ARTstor is a repository of images of art, architecture, and design. It includes a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and teaching. ARTstor is supplemented by additional content, including thousands of licensed images (primarily art and architecture) ; additional supplemental images include locally-produced NYU collections: United Automobile Workers of America, District 65 Photographs Collection - Part I: Negatives and the Tamiment/Wagner Poster and Broadside Collection.
In order to download images, users must create an artstor account. Faculty members may request special privileges that allow the creation of image groups, personal collections, and more.
The National Anthropological Archives and Human Studies Film Archives collect and preserve historical and contemporary anthropological materials that document the world's cultures and the history of anthropology. Their collections represent the four fields of anthropology – ethnology, linguistics, archaeology, and physical anthropology – and include fieldnotes, journals, manuscripts, correspondence, photographs, maps, sound recordings, film and video created by Smithsonian anthropologists and other preeminent scholars.