The most authoritative, up-to-date, comprehensive, and international reference source in its field. An entirely new work, with new editors, new authors, new topics and newly commissioned articles with a handful of classic articles. The first Encyclopedia to exploit the multimedia potential of linguistics through the online edition.
Has long been the standard single-volume reference for its field. Now available in its sixth edition, it has been revised and updated to reflect the latest terms in the field. Includes in excess of 5,100 terms, grouped into over 3,000 entries Coverage reflects recommendations by a team of experts in phonetics, phonology, syntax, semantics, sociolinguistics and psycholinguistics.
The 2nd Edition encompasses the full range of the contemporary field of linguistics, including historical, comparative, formal, mathematical, functional, and philosophical linguistics with special attention given to interrelations within branches of linguistics and to relations of linguistics with other disciplines.
Now in its second edition, this invaluable work is the most authoritative dictionary of linguistics of its kind available. The dictionary contains over 3,150 entries coveringevery aspect of this multidisciplinary field, including sociolinguistics, language theory and history, language families, and major languages from all over the world (including major national/regional dialects), and key figures and ideas in linguistics.Fully revised and updated for the second edition, the dictionary now boasts greatly enhanced coverage of sociolinguistics, making it an ideal reference for those studying linguistics.
Linguistic Bibliography online provides references to scholarly publications in linguistics, covering all disciplines of theoretical linguistics, both general and language specific, from all geographical areas, including endangered and extinct languages, with particular attention to lesser-known Indo-European and non-Indo-European languages. Linguistic Bibliography Online contains all entries of the print Linguistic Bibliography from 1993 onwards, with new entries added monthly.
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. Dates of coverage: 1973 to present.
The MLA International Bibliography provides bibliographic records for books, book chapters, journal articles, and dissertations published in the fields of modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Full text is available for some articles. The MLAIB covers items published from around 1920 to the present.
The Bibliography of Slavic Linguistics Online brings together the details of substantial number of unique publications, carefully selected, classified, cross-referenced and indexed by professional bibliographers. All contributing bibliographers are specialized Slavists themselves. The selection includes over thirty publication languages including publications in Finnish, Estonian, Greek, Albanian, Dutch, English, German, Japanese, Hebrew. Marc L. Greenberg has written a special Introduction (see Introduction tab) giving an overview of the state of scholarship in Slavic linguistics and the directions in which the field is headed.
Before the first appearance of the Atlas of the World's Languages in 1993, all the world's languages had never been accurately and completely mapped. The Atlas depicts the location of every known living language, including languages on the point of extinction. This revised version offers up-to-date research, some from fieldwork in early 2006, a general linguistic history of each section, an overview of the genetic relations of the languages in each section, statistical and sociolinguistic information, a large number of new or completely updated maps, further reading and a bibliography for each section, and a cross-referenced language index of over 6,000 languages.
The online edition raises awareness about language endangerment and the need to safeguard the world’s linguistic diversity. The free online version is complementary to the print edition. It does not reproduce the regional and thematic chapters of the print version, but it offers additional information on the listed endangered languages.
The Atlas depicts the location of every known living language, including languages on the point of extinction. This revised version offers up-to-date research, some from fieldwork in early 2006, a general linguistic history of each section, an overview of the genetic relations of the languages in each section, statistical and sociolinguistic information, a large number of new or completely updated maps, further reading and a bibliography for each section, and a cross-referenced language index of over 6,000 languages.
The Rutgers Optimality Archive is a distribution point for research in Optimality Theory and its conceptual affiliates.
Posting in ROA is open to all who wish to disseminate their work in OT and related theories of grammar.