It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Introduction to Anthropology
An introduction to anthropology related resources available through NYU library's online collection.
A comprehensive and authoritative overview of ancient material culture from the late Pleistocene to Late Antiquity Features up-to-date surveys and the latest information from major new excavations such as Qatna (Syria), Göbekli Tepe (Turkey) Includes a diverse range of perspectives by senior, mid-career and junior scholars in Europe, USA, Britain, Australia, and the Middle East for a truly international group Includes major reviews of the origins of agriculture, animal domestication, and archaeological landscapes Includes chapters dealing with periods after the coming of Alexander the Great, including studies of the Seleucid, Arsacid, Sasanian, Roman and Byzantine empires in the Near East, as well as early Christianity in both the Levant and Mesopotamia Fills a gap in literature of the Ancient Near East, dealing with topics often overlooked, including ethical and legal issues in antiquities markets and international scholarship
The definitive reference work for the study of the ancient world, includes over 5000 entries, provides clear, concise, definitions and explanations of the key people, places, and events in ancient history. Spans the late Bronze Age through the seventh century CE and covers the entire ancient Mediterranean world including the Near East and Egypt.
This Companion provides a comprehensive introduction to key topics in the study of ancient history. Examines the forms of evidence, problems, approaches, and major themes in the study of ancient history. Comprises more than 40 essays, written by leading international scholars.
The Ancient World Digital Library (AWDL) is an initiative of the Institute for the Study of the Ancient World at New York University. AWDL will identify, collect, curate, and provide access to the broadest possible range of scholarly materials relevant to the study of the ancient world. Particular strengths of the AWDL collection include Assyriology, Egyptology, and Papyrology.
The Biblical Archaeology Society (BAS) database includes access to the Biblical Archaeology Review, Bible Review, Archaeology Odyssey, the New Encyclopedia of Archaeological Excavations in the Holy Land, books (Aspects of Monotheism, Feminist Approaches to the Bible, The Search for Jesus, and The Rise of Ancient Israel) videos, and more.
The Dead Sea Scrolls Electronic Library Non-Biblical Texts provides users with a comprehensive tool for the study of the non-biblical texts from the Judean Desert (the “Dead Sea Scrolls”). It contains images of the Non-Biblical Dead Sea Scroll fragments and all the texts, in the original languages and in translation. It enables content searching using a sophisticated inventory, and examining finer details of the original texts through search options and zoom possibilities for the images.
The Online Egyptological Bibliography (OEB) includes the volumes of the previous Annual Egyptological Bibliography (AEB) combined with the Bibliographie Altägypten (BA), covering Egyptological literature from 1822 to 2002, as well as partial treatment of 2003-2012.
A blog covering open access material relating to the ancient world.The ancient world is conceived here as from the Pillars of Hercules to the Pacific, from the beginnings of human habitation to the late antique / early Islamic period.