A guide to resources for finding articles, books, and data in biology. Includes resources to comply with NIH research rigor and transparency initiatives.
Ebook Central is NYU's preferred ebook provider. Users can search, read, highlight, and annotate full-text books in many subject areas, including the social sciences and humanities.
Online collection of dictionaries, encyclopedias, biographical sources, quotations, bilingual dictionaries, and measurement conversions covering topics from the arts to the sciences.
MIT CogNet is a collection of journals, reference works, and books published by MIT Press in the area of brain and cognitive science. The collection also includes conference proceedings.
Oxford Scholarship Online (OSO) offers full-text access to scholarly (peer-reviewed) monographs published by Oxford University Press in a range of academic disciplines. Users can discover content that is Open Access and print out PDFs of single chapters for individual use.
Oxford Bibliographies presents constantly updated articles that contain citations (with annotations) and commentaries for sources across the disciplines. Users can search topics and gather relevant journal article and book citations, online resources, data sources, and more.
Online catalog of human genes and genetic disorders, with good background information and references to foundational studies about the gene/phenotype discussed. Authored and edited at the McKusick-Nathans Institute of Genetic Medicine, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine.
In addition to definitions, specialists in the field of genetics share their descriptions of terms, and many terms include images and animations. From the National Human Genome Research Institute (NHGRI).
News & Ideas
Looking for or trying to narrow down a topic? Some places to look for ideas.
This link opens in a new window