Research Guides: TESOL at NYU Shanghai: Find Articles

TESOL Related Journals

Off-campus Access

Many online journals and databases require subscriptions (which NYU Libraries pays for) to get access.

If you are on campus, access can be relatively seamless since authentication is usually established by IP address.

If you are off campus, then you need to be routed through the Libraries' proxy server, so that you can be authenticated after providing your NYU NetID and password.

Off Campus: Accessing E-Resources

Test example

Google Scholar

Google Scholar How-to
How to use Google scholar.

Finding A Specific Article (When You Have the Citation)

Looking for something specific? Use the search by citation tool

Locate a known article
Zeynep Turan & Birgul Akdag-Cimen (2019): Flipped classroom in English language teaching: a systematic review, Computer Assisted Language Learning, DOI: 10.1080/09588221.2019.1584117

Develop Search Strategy

Article Databases

ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC is the U.S. Department of Education's database of articles, books, policy reports, dissertations and other resources related to education from 1966-present.
This resource is also freely available at Eric.ed.gov
Education Source with ERIC This link opens in a new window
Education Source with ERIC provides access to research on all levels of education from early childhood to adult education. The content includes peer reviewed journal articles, ebooks, book reviews, dissertations, conference papers and policy reports on all topics in the realm of education.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. Dates of coverage: 1973 to present.
MLA International Bibliography (MLAIB) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The MLA International Bibliography provides bibliographic records for books, book chapters, journal articles, and dissertations published in the fields of modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Full text is available for some articles. The MLAIB covers items published from around 1920 to the present.
ProQuest Education Journals This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Education Journals gives users access to over 900 educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text. The coverage spans the literature on primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education, home schooling and adult education.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) This link opens in a new window
This database indexes about 1,700 arts and humanities journals. Dates of coverage: 1975 to present.
Adjust settings to expand your searching to include the Social Sciences Citation Index, the Science Citation Index, the Book Citation Index, and others.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary full-text database with full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study. Users can access articles, book chapters, images, videos, reviews, both from peer-reviewed and popular resources.
Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Dissertations and Theses Global contains indexes, dissertations and some theses. Full-text is available for many dissertations and theses, including those from NYU.

Search Tips

When using article databases, remember there are always three stages in your workflow:

Discovery: Do and redo your searches! Do a keyword or keyphrase search, scan the results, and figure out if you can do a better search using more focused terms, synonyms, and/or by using the Boolean operators "and, or, not" to get good results. Your first search is not your best search, but rather an opportunity to learn how to immediately do a better search.
Delivery: For items that you like, select the link to the full text if available. If the citation does not include the full text, use the icon to see if we own the full text in another database. If you want to keep this item, save it to your own computer, email it to yourself, or print it.
Document: Keep track of the search terms you've used and a running bibliography of all that good resources you found. If you want to create your own library, NYU Libraries offer a number of citation management tools that you can learn more about. These tools are like research shadows - you can save the metadata of the resources you find there, and they will help you create a bibliography as you write a paper. They require habit to use though!

Group Activity

What Subject Area(s) Does It Cover?
What Date Range Does it Cover?
What Types of Material Does It Cover? i.e. magazines, books, journals, images, audio, videos
What Types of Contents? i.e. full text, abstract
What search options?
Can you limit the search to Peer-review only?
What keywords did you use for your topic?
...

More Databases