Research Guides: Public Health: Data &amp; Reports by Topic

Overview

A significant amount of information in public health is published as data or reports (gray literature). There's a lot available out there and this page can't include it all. Are you looking for NYC traffic data? Genetic data related to cancer or aging? Do you wish you could find code lists for all published electronic medical record studies in one place? Contact hope.lappen@nyu.edu and we'll see what we can find.

Health Data & Statistics

Global Health Data Exchange
Data catalog for global health, demographic, and other health-related datasets. Provides detailed information about datasets ranging from censuses and surveys to health records and vital statistics, globally. Includes the Global Burden of Disease Study data.
More information less...
The GDB Compare visualization allows the user to see rate of change in disease incidence, globally or by country, by age or across all ages, etc.

GIDEON (Global Infectious Diseases and Epidemiology Online Network) This link opens in a new window
GIDEON is a web-based global infectious disease knowledge management tool. GIDEON is used for diagnosis and reference in the fields of tropical and infectious diseases, epidemiology, microbiology and antimicrobial chemotherapy.

CDC Wonder
WONDER online databases utilize a rich ad-hoc query system for the analysis of public health data. Reports and other query systems are also available.
National Center for Health Statistics
The National Center for Health Statistics is a large collection of data on health and vital statistics, including births, aging, marriages, health care, physical activity, morbidity and mortality.
HCUPnet
On-line query system based on data from the Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP). It provides access to health statistics and information on hospital inpatient and emergency department utilization.
NHANES: National Health & Nutrition Examination Survey
Program of studies designed to assess the health and nutritional status of adults and children in the US.
EPIC: European Prospective Investigation into Cancer and Nutrition
Designed to investigate the relationships between diet, nutritional status, lifestyle and environmental factors, and the incidence of cancer and other chronic diseases.
USAID Demographic & Health Surveys
Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS) Program has collected, analyzed, and disseminated accurate and representative data on population, health, HIV, and nutrition through more than 300 surveys in over 90 countries.
National Health Interview Survey (NHIS)
US national survey covering health status, health care access, and progress toward achieving national health objectives. Began in 1957.

Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) This link opens in a new window
ICPSR is a social science repository that includes curated data sets pertaining to many disciplines within the social sciences. ICPSR contains original codebooks and descriptions of methodology, offers multiple file format downloads, and links data to relevant scholarly research. Users can search at the variable level and trace datasets to their use in academic publications. The archive also includes data-driven learning guides for those teaching with data.
Users need to login to access. Use the single sign-in with Google and when prompted, use NetID credentials.
Sociometrics This link opens in a new window
Sociometrics contains datasets that are organized into nine topical data archives: AIDS/STIs, Disability, the American Family, Adolescent Pregnancy and Pregnancy Prevention, Aging, Maternal Drug Abuse, Child Well-Being and Poverty, Complementary and Alternative Medicine and Contextual (Geographic) Data. Users can export datasets as studies packaged with relevant documentation and multiple file formats.
To access the data in the Social Science Electronic Data Library (SSEDL), click on "Browse" and select "Data."

Environmental Health & Toxicology

Agency for Toxic Substances & Disease Registry
Resources include World Trade Center Registry, Asbestos Registry, Interactive map and links to hazardous waste site documents. Evaluations of hazardous substances and health effects. Screening tools and survey instruments.
IARC: International Agency for Research on Cancer
Reports on the burden of cancer worldwide. IARC Monographs identify environmental factors that can increase the risk of human cancer. These include chemicals, complex mixtures, occupational exposures, physical agents, biological agents, and lifestyle factors.
IRIS: Integrated Risk Information System
EPA's IRIS is a human health assessment program that evaluates information on health effects that may result from exposure to environmental contaminants.
HERO: Health & Environmental Research Online
HERO contains the key studies EPA uses to develop environmental risk assessments for the public. EPA uses risk assessments to characterize the nature and magnitude of health risks to humans and the ecosystem from pollutants and chemicals in the environment. You can browse through the bibliographic references in HERO by topic or assessment, or search for articles by author, title, etc
ECOTOX
From the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, this database provides single chemical toxicity data, derived from peer-reviewed literature, for aquatic life, terrestrial plants and wildlife.
Canary Database
Curated index of scientific studies reviewing the evidence of animals as "early warning" sentinels of human health hazards. See report on West Nile Fever for an example.
NASA Socioeconomic Data & Applications Center
Access data, maps, and other resources on agriculture, climate, governance, land use, built environment, health, poverty, urban areas, and more.

For additional resources related to environmental health, check the Environmental Studies guide.

Food & Nutrition

USDA Food Access Research Atlas
Presents a spatial overview of food access indicators for low-income and other census tracts using different measures of supermarket accessibility; Provides food access data for populations within census tracts; Offers census-tract-level data on food access that can be downloaded for community planning or research purposes.
USDA Food Choices & Health Data
Data on diet quality, labeling, food access and consumption, and obesity.
USDA Food & Nutrition Assistance Data
Data on child nutrition programs, poverty, food security, SNAP and WIC programs.
FAOSTAT
UN food and agriculture data for over 245 countries and territories.1961 to the most recent year available.
WHO Nutrition Landscape Information System
Bringing together all existing WHO Global Nutrition Databases dynamically, as well as other existing food and nutrition-related data from partner agencies. Search the integrated system or individual databases.
More information less...
Includes:
-Global database on the Implementation of Nutrition Action (GINA)
-Global targets tracking tool
-Global Nutrition Monitoring Framework
-Nutrition Landscape Information System (NLiS)
-Vitamin and Mineral Nutrition Information System (VMNIS)
-WHO Global Database on Body Mass Index
-WHO Global Database on Child Growth and Malnutrition
-WHO Global Data Bank on Infant and Young Child Feeding
International Food Policy Research Institute Dataverse
Agricultural science and technology indicators, seed studies, social accounting matrices, and more.

Passport This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides international market intelligence, including economic statistics, on industries, countries, and consumers. Look under Industries tab for Fresh Food, Packaged Food, Alcoholic Drinks, Hot Drinks, and Soft Drinks.
Requires Net ID and password.

USDA FoodData Central
Food composition database. Includes the USDA National Nutrient Database for Standard Reference (legacy), the Food and Nutrient Database for Dietary Studies 2015-2016, the USDA Branded Food Products database, and two new data types: foundation foods and experimental foods.
WHO Food Safety Databases
Databases related to food safety, food additives, contaminants pesticides, and food consumption estimates.

For addition resources related to nutrition and food, see the Nutrition & Food Science guide.

One Health/Animal Health

WAHIS Interface
Access to all data held within World Organisation for Animal Health's World Animal Health Information System. Includes information by country about animal populations, disease outbreaks, vaccinations, zoonotic diseases in humans, etc.
USDA Animal & Plant Health Inspection Service
Canary Database
Curated index of scientific studies reviewing the evidence of animals as "early warning" sentinels of human health hazards. See report on West Nile Fever for an example.

Search/browse for More Data Sources

re3data.org
Global registry of research data repositories.
Data.gov
Open Federal, state and local data from the United States government.
Figshare
General repository for research outputs, including data sets, media, papers, posters and groups of files.
NIH Data Sharing Repositories
List of NIH-supported data repositories and resources that aggregate information about biomedical data. Each entry has a brief description of the repository and links to data submission and access policies.
NYU Licensed Data Resources

Videos & Images

Docuseek2 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Docuseek is a collection of documentary films, covering a broad spectrum of social science and humanistic topics.
Kanopy Streaming This link opens in a new window
Kanopy Streaming provides access to contemporary and classic feature films and documentaries, from the major Hollywood studios and well as independent and international filmmakers.
Latin America in Video This link opens in a new window
Latin America in Video offers 400 documentaries from producers and filmmakers in Latin America, on subjects pertaining to a wide range of disciplines including cultural studies, sociology, anthropology, history, music, and religion.

NYU Data Services

NYU Data Services hours, spaces, and other information
Email: data.services@nyu.edu
Or fill out our appointment form
Call us: 212-998-3434
Or come visit: 5th Floor, Bobst Library

Data Services is a joint service of NYU Libraries and ITS to support quantitative, qualitative, and geographical research at NYU. Data Services offers access to specialty software packages for statistical analysis, geographic information systems (GIS), survey research, and qualitative data analysis. We provide training and support as well as consulting expertise for many aspects of the research data lifecycle including access, analysis, collection development, data management, and data preservation.