Skip to main content

Anthropology: Handbooks, Guides, and Methods

This guide covers the fields of social and cultural anthropology in addition to archaeology

Research Methods in Anthropology

We have numerous resources for learning Anthropological methods. One of the best is the SAGE Research Methods Database: 

Handbooks & Guides

Bibliographic Guide to Anthropology and Archaeology. Boston: G.K. Hall & Co., 1987-1989 & 1991.
Bobst REF1 Z5111 .B47
Annual bibliography of new books in the field. For records of early books see the Tozzer Library Catalog listed below under Indexes and Abstracts.

Dutton, Lee S., ed. Anthropological Resources: A Guide to Archival, Library and Museum Collections. New York: Garland Publishing, 1999.
Bobst REF1 GN14 .A77 1999
Guide to fieldnotes, site reports, manuscripts, sound recordings, visual materials, and other documents held in archives, libraries and museums worldwide (though focused on the United States).

International Committee for Social Sciences Documentation. International Bibliography of Social and Cultural Anthropology. Paris: UNESCO, 1984-1988, 1990, 1992-1996.
New School Reference Z5111 .I55
An annual subject index to journal articles and books with good international coverage.

Kibbee, Josephine Z. Cultural Anthropology: A Guide to Reference and Information Sources. Englewood, CO: Libraries Unlimited Inc., 1991.
Bobst Z5111 .K53 1991 Non-circulating
Survey of major reference books and resources in all four subfields of anthropology, as well as related subjects such as folklore, museum studies, and area studies. Includes guide to organizations, libraries and publishers.

Weeks, John M. Introduction to Library Research in Anthropology. Boulder, CO: Westview Press, 1998. 2nd ed.
Bobst REF1 Z5111 .W44 1997
Includes guides to archive and manuscript collections, subject and regional bibliographies, guides to anthropological films and photography, and a list of major anthropology collections in US and Canadian libraries.

Westerman, R.C. Fieldwork in the Library: A Guide to Research in Anthropology and Related Area Studies. Chicago: American Library Association, 1994.
Bobst REF1 Z5111 .W47 1994
Subject guide to major reference works and bibliographies in all four subfields of anthropology and in area studies.

Librarian

Scott Collard's picture
Scott Collard
Sorry, I'm either unavailable or your javaScript is disabled; you can try me via email at scott.collard@nyu.edu.
Contact:
Bobst Library

5th Floor, #513
Social:Twitter Page