Skip to main content

Education: Background Info

An overview of the resources available for researchers in the field of education, broadly defined.

About this page

Reference resources are a great way to get started with your research. They can help you gather fast facts about a topic, focus your argument, and find lists of further readings written by experts in the field. Use the indexes and tables of contents to understand what you will find in each and go from there. These are all common resources and most will also be available at a large public library.

General Resources

Oxford Bibliographies in Education, provides bibliographies of scholarship on many subjects within education, all prepared by leading voices in those areas. A great bibliography grower!

Encyclopedia of Education, James W. Guthrie, Ed. 2nd ed. New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 2002.

Encyclopedia of Education and Human Development, Stephen J. Farenga, Daniel Ness. Armonk, N.Y. : M.E. Sharpe;2005

International Handbook of Comparative Education. Robert Cowen and Andreas Kazamias. Springer, 2009

Education statistics of the United States, Bernan Press, 2001.

International Encyclopedia of Education, Elsevier, 2010

Encyclopedia of American Education, by Harlow G. Unger. New York, Facts on File, 1996.
Bobst Ref1 LB17 .U54 1996

Encyclopedia of Educational Research, 6th ed. New York, Macmillan, 1992.
Bobst Ref1 LB15 .E48 1992

Learning Theories A to Z, by David C. Leonard. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2002.
Bobst Ref1 LB15 .L4695 2002

Urban Education: a Reference Handbook, by Kathy L. Adams. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, c2003.
Bobst Ref1 LC5131 .A33 2003

Credo Reference. Online collection of dictionaries, encyclopedias, biographical sources, quotations, bilingual dictionaries, and measurement conversions covering topics from the arts to the sciences.

Intercultural Perspectives

This list is a sampling of some of the reference resources that can be helpful in providing an intercultural background or viewpoint. Look for other resources in the same call number area.


Handbook of research on multicultural education, by James Banks. San Francisco, CA: Jossey-Bass, c2004
Bobst Ref1 LC1099.3 .H35

Pew Hispanic Center online.
http://pewhispanic.org/

Gale encyclopedia of multicultural America, Detroit, MI: Gale Research, c1995.
Bobst first floor Reference E184.A1 G14

American immigrant cultures: builders of a nation, New York: Simon & Schuster Macmillan, c1997.
Bobst first floor Reference E184 .A1 .A63448

The Asian American encyclopedia, New York: Marshall Cavendish, c1995.
Bobst first floor Reference E184.O6 A827

The Latino encyclopedia, New York: Marshall Cavendish, c1996.
Bobst first floor Reference E184.S75 L357

Encyclopedia of African-American culture and history, Detroit: Macmillan Reference USA, c2006.
Bobst first floor Reference E185 .E54 2006

American Jewish yearbook. Philadelphia. American Jewish Committee 2006.
Bobst first floor Reference E184.J5 A6