Skip to main content

Theatre & Performance Studies: Finding Books

This guide is intended as a starting place for researchers, pointing to tools for finding books, scholarly articles, reviews, and other topical and collection-related information in Theatre.

Featured New Titles

Search BobCat for Books and Articles

Search here for books, journals and other print materials, videos, sound recordings, e-books, e-journals, databases, and indexes in our local libraries and special collections.

Finding Books Outside of Bobst

Online Books

Ebook Central provides a unique set of online database collections that combine more than 20,000 authoritative books and other documents from over 150 leading academic, trade, and professional publishers.

Announcing MaRLI

Announcing MaRLI

The New York Public Library and the libraries of Columbia University and New York University have launched a pilot initiative to expand access and use of collections and better serve their users.  The collaboration, dubbed the Manhattan Research Library Initiative (MaRLI), will enable NYU and Columbia doctoral students, full-time faculty and librarians, and approved New York Public Library cardholders with a demonstrable research need not met by currently available resources, to borrow materials from all three institutions.

BobCat Standard

A more stable --though stodgy -- version of Bobcat.  You can browse headings (authors, titles, subjects...)  in this version as well.

BobCat History

License Some rights reserved, http://www.flickr.com/photos/marinatina/with/162651392/

Why is the Bobcat the “official” mascot of NYU?


In 1984, NYU’s Bobst Library began the process of computerizing its catalog. To lead students and faculty through the new system, a Bobst Catalog character was derived to instruct users on how to prompt the new system. The BobCat (from Bobst Library Catalog) was the character. Bobcat images appeared all over the library, in campus publications, and in many other campus locations. The Bobcat was a cartoon—cute and user-friendly.

Archivist's Angle: From the Fighting Violet to the Bobcat The History of NYU Mascots

Bobcat, the NYU mascot, is ever ready to cheer on the victories of the school on and off the field.

More new books