Skip to main content

Shakespeare Studies: Finding Books

A guide for students and professors interested in the study of Shakespeare's life and works

Browsing for Shakespeare in the Stacks

Call Numbers beginning with PR are located on the 8th Floor

General Collected Works

Complete works  PR 2752 - 2763

Sonnets and Poem collections

PR 2841 - 2843

Sonnets  PR 2848

Individual Plays and Criticism

Copies of the individual plays are arranged alphabetically between PR 2801 - 2839.  The play comes first, followed by criticism of the individual play

General Criticism and Biography

Shakespeare biographies  PR 2894 - 2920

Shakespeare stage history  PR 3091 - 3112

Shakespeare's characters  PR 2989

Shakespeare criticism and interpretation

(general)  PR 2965 - 2979

Shakespeare film and video

adaptations (criticism)  PR 3093

Shakespeare comedies (criticism) PR 2981

Shakespeare histories (criticism) PR 2982

Shakespeare tragedies (criticism) PR 2983

Shakespeare poetic works (criticism) PR 2984

Shakespeare humor and satire PR 2994

Shakespeare handbooks PR 2895 - 2898

Shakespeare authorship PR 2937 - 2961

Shakespeare's influence PR 2965 - 2971

Shakespeare's knowledge and learning PR 2903

Shakespeare's language PR 3072 - 3088

Shakespeare's political and social views

PR 3017 - 3024

Shakespeare and religion PR 3011 - 3012

Shakespeare dictionaries PR 2892

Digital Primary Texts

Cambridge Collections / Shakespeare Survey

Cambridge Collections Online offers subject or theme based collections of content within a richly functional, fully cross-searchable online environment.  All of the fabulous resources of the numerous Cambridge Companions to Shakespeare are available to you through this resource.  You can view individual volumes, individual essays, and the rich bibliographies that are included within each publication.  Each collection is updated with new Companions on publication. Also available through Cambridge Collections Online, Shakespeare Survey Online makes the distinguished 60 year history of the print series available online for the first time and exclusively.

Search other catalogs

Need to find something we don't have here at Bobst?  Need to research editions of a specific work?  Worldcat to the rescue!  Worldcat allows you to search for material beyond what we have available here at Bobst. 

Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>

Prospero knows the value of a good book - you should too!

              

Sir John Geilgud as Prospero... with a book!

Rediscover the book - one of the greatest research tools around!

The majority of Academic Libraries use the Library of Congress Classification system to organize their print resources.  This means that books sharing the same subject can easily be browsed for the serendipitous discovery of wonderful books in your subject area.  All you will need to know is the call number range in order to get yourself situated.

Check the box to the left to see where the books on Shakespeare and his plays are located.

One of the most important books in the world? Recent books about Shakespeare's First Folio

Featured Titles

New Titles in the Stacks