Skip to main content

Shakespeare Studies: Shakespeare Collections/Archives

A guide for students and professors interested in the study of Shakespeare's life and works

National Theatre Archive, London, UK

Shakespeare Centre Library & Archive, Stratford-upon-Avon, UK

Globe Theatre, London, UK

Shakespearean Collections

Many of the Archival and Special Collections highlighted on this page specialize in primary and/or secondary materials associated with the works of William Shakespeare either in print or performance.  This is a selective list and does not encompass all the Shakespearean collections around the world.  Even though a collection may be located on the other side of the world, you will have to ability to use their catalogs or contact them via email to see if they have the material you are searching for.  The following link will assist you in determining what constitutes a primary source, how they can be used to enhance your research, and how to properly cite them:

New York Public Library for the Performing Arts, NY

Folger Shakespeare Library, Washington DC

Harvard Theatre Collection

Horace Howard Furness Memorial Library, University of Pennsylvania, PA

Touchstone

Royal Shakespeare Company, Stratford-upon-Avon, UK

The aim of the Royal Shakespeare Company (RSC) is to keep modern audiences in touch with Shakespeare as our contemporary. That means that as well as the work of Shakespeare and his contemporaries, our repertoire includes classic plays by international dramatists and work by living writers. The physical RSC archives are held at the Shakespeare Centre Library & Archive, but there are a number of video clips of productions and interviews with actors and directors as well as production photographs under he "education" section of their website.