Research Guides: Radio: Finding Books

Background Information

This day in network radio : a daily calendar of births, deaths, debuts, cancellations and other events in broadcasting history by Jim Cox
Call Number: 1st Floor Reference (PN1991 .3 .U6 C693 2008)
ISBN: 0786438487

This is a sampling of books available in the 1st floor reference area. These serve as great starting points for your research. If you browse the shelves around the call number, you'll find other titles.

Handbook of old-time radio : a comprehensive guide to golden age radio listening and collecting by Jon David Swartz
Call Number: 1st Floor Reference (PN1991.3.U6 S93 1993)
ISBN: 0810825902
The airwaves of New York : illustrated histories of 156 AM stations in the Metropolitan Area, 1921-1996 by Bill Jaker
Call Number: 1st Floor Reference (TK6548.U6 J35 1998)
ISBN: 0786403438

Search BobCat for Books at NYU

To find books, search the NYU Bobst Library Catalog, Bobcat, using the box below.

Here are some recommended search phrases:

radio history
radio broadcasting history united states (or any other country)
radio in propaganda
radio broadcasting
radio broadcasters
radio audiences
radio law and legislation
radio frequency allocation
radio comedies, etc.

Search the NYU Libraries Catalog

Search for books, journals, videos, etc. in our local libraries and special collections.

Finding Radio Directories

SRDS Media Solutions This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SRDS Media Solutions provides advertising rates and circulation information for U.S. and international media properties including magazines, newspapers, radio, TV/cable, and more. SRDS includes Claritas 360, a customer and market analysis tool that includes Nielsen and PRIZM data.
Users accessing the Local Market Audience Analyst must use Internet Explorer.

Gale directory of publications and broadcast media by Paul Schummer
Publication Date: 2020
Contains listings for radio and television stations and cable companies. Print media entries provide address; phone, fax numbers, and e-mail addresses; key personnel, including feature editors; and much more. Broadcast media entries provide address; phone, fax, and e-mail addresses; key personnel; owner information; hours of operation; networks carried and more. Scope includes U.S., Canadian, and international media.
World radio TV handbook
Call Number: 1st Floor Reference TK6540 .W7 Non-circulating
World Radio TV Handbook is a directory of global broadcasting. It contains details by country of radio broadcasts and broadcasters on LW, MW (AM), SW and FM, and details of national TV.
Broadcasting & cable yearbook
Call Number: HE8689 .B75
Publication Date: 2009
The Broadcasting & Cable Yearbook is a reference guide, released yearly, for television and radio stations. Stations are listed alphabetically, by frequency or channel, as well as complete info listings by state and city.