Skip to main content

Public Policy & Administration: Journal Articles & Reports

Database Search Tips

Here are tips for better search results in databases. This usage works on most databases, but check 'Help' sections for supported search syntax. 

Boolean: (using operators: and, or, not) 

mother and father searches for occurrences of both words within scope defined.


mother or father searches for one or all, but both are not required.


mother not father searches for occurrences of the word ‘mother’ without use of the word ‘father.’


(mother not father) and god searches for occurrences of the word ‘mother’ without use of the word ‘father,’ then also requires the word ‘god.’

 

Truncation: 

art* searches for art, arts, artistic, artful, etc.

Wildcard: 

m?n searches for man and men. 

Article Indexes & Databases

Start here:

  • PAIS: Public Affairs Information Service
    Contains citations to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more from over 120 countries throughout the world on topics related to public affairs and public administration.
  • PolicyFile
    Access to U.S. foreign and domestic policy papers and gray literature, PolicyFile is updated weekly with abstracts and links to the latest reports, papers, and documents from think tanks, research institutes, and agencies.
  • CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online
    The most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.
  • Public Administration NetBase
    Collection of e-books related to public administration.
  • Think Tank Search (from Harvard Kennedy School Library & Knowledge Services)
    "a custom Google search of more than 250 U.S. and non-U.S. think tank websites. LKS defines think tanks as institutions affiliated with universities, governments, advocacy groups, foundations, non-governmental organizations, and businesses that generate public policy research, analysis, and activity."

Also try:

  • ABI/INFORM
    In-depth coverage of business issues, management techniques, competitive information, and a variety of other topics from more than 1,000 leading business and management publications, including over 350 English-language titles from outside the United States.
  • Business Source Complete
    Full text business database, covering management, economics, finance, accounting, and international business, covering 1886 to present.
  • LexisNexis Academic Universe
    A version of the Lexis-Nexis database specially tailored for universities and colleges. Nearly 5,000 publications on the service span news, financial, medical, and legal information. The service covers newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, and federal regulations.
  • Social Sciences Citation Index (ISI Web of Knowledge)
    Large index of social science literature linked through articles' bibliographies; searchable by author, topic, journal title, and more. Includes links to an article's references, instances the author or article has been cited by others, and citation mapping tools.
  • National Arts Policy Database
    A tool that enables users to access current information on a multitude of topics related to arts policy. Records in the database are classified into four types: research abstracts, news articles, project profiles, and sample documents. The database is updated weekly and contains over 8,200 records—providing arts policy researchers, advocates, and administrators with comprehensive information on arts policy and practice.
  • Google Scholar
    Searches across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. *Note: Click on "Scholar Preferences" and set your Library Link to NYU. This will give you the option to search our paid collections if the full text isn't available on the web.