Skip to main content

African American Drama: Books / How to find Scripts

Welcome to the African American Theatre Page! This opening page contains updates on whats new in African American Theatre.

How to get started

Use the following links to locate African American Plays.

*Start with the Play Index. Click on the Grey and Red button to see if a play is owned by Bobst.

*Also use the Black Drama Database and Drama Online. Plays are full text and also contain some primary material such as playbill.  To the left is a selection of bibliographies. 

*Bibliographies are an excellect source to locate plays.  Most of these are located on the 1st fl. of Bobst in the Social Science Humanites Reference Room.

Online Scripts

Finding Scripts via BobCat

When searching BobCat go to BOOKS & MORE, and click the ADVANCE SEARCH button.  Select ANYWHERE IN THE RECORD. In the first box type in AFRICAN AMERICAN DRAMA in the second box type in AFRICAN AMERICAN AUTHORS.  This will result in play titles and collections. You can use the Publication Date selection to find plays in your date range. We cannot limit the results to the words PLAYS. Your list will also contain anthologies, bibliographies and research texts.

WorldCat (OCLC)

Use the Play Index to find plays

Image result for play index

Use this source to locate plays published individually or in anthologies. Search over 30,000 plays written from Antiquity to the present and published from 1949 to the present. Play Index covers a wide range of plays written in or translated into English, including mysteries, pageants, plays in verse, puppet performances, radio and television plays, and classic drama.

Select SUBJECTS AFRICAN AMERICAN to restrict to African American plays and casts. The search will result in 600+ plays with African American Characters. Click on SEARCH FOR A PLAY for individual titles or SEARCH FOR A BOOK for collections and anthologies.

Click on the NYU button to find the location of plays in BobCat.

Bibliographies

Use the following bibliographies to find African American plays. Found in the Humanites Social Science Reference section, 1st fl. of Bobst Library.

Black playwrights, 1823-1977 : an annotated bibliography of plays

Finding Scripts Tutorial

Libguides are a new way to communicate with our library users.  These subject guides are becoming the first place students and faculty go for information and help. The guide introduces The Play Index, Black Drama Database and BobCat as the best places to go.