Research Guides: History of Medicine, Healthcare, and Disease: Diseases/Conditions

Diseases and Conditions for Patients/Consumer Health

For healthcare professionals, use these resources for information on diseases and conditions

For NON-healthcare professionals (consumers, patients, and students) looking for lay information, the links below are recommended:

Stat!Ref This link opens in a new window
SELECT "AAFP Conditions" in list of titles. Conditions A-Z is a handy patient-information tool created by the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP).
Users must click "I accept" to be able to use this resource.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Online collection of dictionaries, encyclopedias, biographical sources, quotations, bilingual dictionaries, and measurement conversions covering topics from the arts to the sciences.

Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. SCROLL to view publications in medicine, including the Gale Encyclopedia of Public Health, Encyclopedia of Pain, Encyclopedia of Cancer, Encyclopedia of Nursing & Allied Health, Encyclopedia of Medicine, Encyclopedia of Public Health, Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine, and MORE.
Lexicomp This link opens in a new window
Explore using Lexi-Patient Education Module
MedlinePlus.gov This link opens in a new window
Health Topics/Drugs/The A.D.A.M. Medical Encyclopedia, interactive tutorials, news, and more. MedlinePlus brings together authoritative information from NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations.
Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
Nursing Reference Center PLUS is a source for evidence-based information designed specifically for nurses. Access articles, syntheses, care plans, watch video demonstrations, strengthen nursing skills, earn continuing education credits and much more.