Skip to main content

Translation Studies: Finding articles via databases

This guide is the gateway to books, journal articles, and web resources for research in the field of Translation Studies

Need to find out if a journal is peer-reviewed? Use Ulrichs

Ulrichsweb is an easy to search source of detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals (also called serials) of all types: academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more. Ulrichsweb covers more than 900 subject areas. Ulrich's records provide data points such as ISSN, publisher, language, subject, abstracting & indexing coverage, full-text database coverage, tables of contents, and reviews written by librarians.

Literary Theory got you perplexed? Try the Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory!

 
The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism is an indispensable resource for scholars and students of literary theory and discourse. Presents a comprehensive historical survey of the field's most important figures, schools, and movements. It includes more than 240 alphabetically arranged entries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical period.

General Databases

General databases contain content from a variety of subject areas as well as a number of different publication types.  They will allow you to look at your topic from a wide perspective. 

Be sure to use the search refiements each database may offer, including: date, document type, and source type.

Subject / Area-specific databases