Skip to main content

Scholarly Metrics : Web of Science

This Guide offers an overview of scholarly metrics and the tools you can use to find them.

Overview

Web of Science is available through the library's "Databases A-Z" tab or directly here: https://arch.library.nyu.edu/databases/proxy/NYU00731 

   Pros

  • Covers extensive time period and journal range
  • Most thoroughly indexed data and disambiguated authors

   Cons

  • Can only compare 10,000 resources at a time (may be problematic when looking for instutional/journal h-index
  • Fewer interactive tools compared to other options (e.g., Scopus)

Essential Science Indicators and Journal Citation Reports (JCR) are available in the "Additional Tools" tab of the Web of Science interface, and can also be used separately. 

Available Metrics

The following metrics are only available through the Web of Science interface:

         Author Search

  • Ability to create citation report which has a breakdown of times cited by year, h-index, average citation per year, and sum of non-self citations for the author.
  • Use selection and refining tools to dissambiguate from other authors. 

         Citation Mapper

  • Creates a map of citations going forward, backward, or both from the article you search for.
  • Ability to view information for each citation in the map and subsequently create a new citation map for those records as well.
  • Option to change display of the map.

         Cited Reference Search

  • Run search for the number of times an article has been cited.
  • Display of possible variants on article/author name to help with selection of all records of this article.
  • Access to records and/or full text of articles that have cited the text you are searching.
  • Ability to create citation report which has a breakdown of times cited by year, h-index, average citation per year, and sum of non-self citations for the articles citing the text.
  • Option to create a Citation Alert.

Other metrics-related tools

 

InCites: Journal Citation Reports (JCR) is available through Web of Science Core Collection interface, or directly here:
https://arch.library.nyu.edu/databases/proxy/NYU02556

 

It offers these features: 

 

  • Option to search Science or Social Sciences Edition of JCR together or separately.
  • Can select the year you wish to view the JCR from.
  • Ability to view and seach by journal title or category. Additional option to analyze impact by Categories by Rank or Journals by Rank, with a visualization map that lists aggregate impact factor, number of journals in each category, title changes, and offers a comparison of journals.
  • Record offers visualizations and graphs to show rank, box plot, journal relationships, and more.
  • Journal record lists abbreviated title of journal, ISSN, Total Cites, Impact Factor, 5-Year Impact Factor, Eigenfactor Score and Article Influence Score for 2007-present, Immediacy Index, and Cited Half Life.
     

InCites: Essential Science Indicators is available through Web of Science Core Collection interface, and also directly here: https://arch.library.nyu.edu/databases/proxy/NYU01573

It offers these features:

  • Citation Rankings for research fields, authors, institutions, countries, and journals.
  • Information on "Highly Cited Papers," "Hot Papers," "Top Papers," and "Research Fronts."
  • Citation Analysis is offered on "baselines" (including averages per field, percentiles, and field rankings) and "research fronts."
  • Graphs to show citation impact for each selection and also a map displaying amount of papers per geographical location.