It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
PolicyMap is a web mapping platform that contains data on demographics, real estate, city crime rates, health, schools, housing affordability, employment, energy, and public investments. Users can create online, interactive maps that can be shared and can upload their own point data to be juxtaposed with the data PolicyMap contains.
ICPSR is a social science repository that includes curated data sets pertaining to many disciplines within the social sciences. ICPSR contains original codebooks and descriptions of methodology, offers multiple file format downloads, and links data to relevant scholarly research. Users can search at the variable level and trace datasets to their use in academic publications. The archive also includes data-driven learning guides for those teaching with data.
Users must create a MyData account from an NYU-owned computer and log on to it at least once every six months to download data. If you are only available to create an account remotely, you can do so by contacting ICPSRfirstname.lastname@example.org via your nyu.edu email and they will set up the account. If you need help accessing your ICPSR account, contact Katie Wissel.
The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research archives include datasets from thousands of public opinion surveys with national adult, state, foreign, and special subpopulation samples. The data catalog also includes the iPoll search tool, which allows users to discover data by searching keywords that appear in survey questions. Along with information on survey organization, interview dates, and type of sample, most results include abstracts indicating the subjects covered by the questions in the survey.
Important: Users must create a distinct account within the Roper system after authenticating with NYU to search and download data.
Data-Planet Statistical Datasets aggregates datasets sourced from reputable public and private organizations, such as OECD, China Data Online, the United Nations, and the U.S. Census. This resources includes David Leip's Election Atlas, with voting data at the county level for US Presidential Elections.
Gallup Analytics provides access to nearly a century of U.S. opinion data (Gallup Daily Tracking) and a decade of Gallup World Poll data on economic well-being, education, and other topics. The platform includes new data and historical trends at the country, state and U.S. city levels. Users can view and extract data by demographic categories, compare results across geographies to develop, and compare responses region by region and nation by nation to questions on topics such as economic conditions, government and business, health and wellbeing, infrastructure, and education.
Gallup World Poll and U.S. Daily Tracking data at the respondent level provides a much-enhanced ability to trace connections between concepts and countries. Users can request extracts of the data behind Gallup's data surveys and get extracts that are generated by Data Services.
Users must create an account with Gallup's WorldPoll Reference tool to discover data. See the documentation for complete information.
Data.Census.Gov, the interface that replaces American FactFinder, is the portal to US Census data and includes data from the American Community Survey, Population Estimates, Economic Census, and Annual Economic Surveys. Users can generate simple visualizations, extract reports, and explore census data by theme or topic.
Sociometrics contains datasets that are organized into nine topical data archives: AIDS/STIs, Disability, the American Family, Adolescent Pregnancy and Pregnancy Prevention, Aging, Maternal Drug Abuse, Child Well-Being and Poverty, Complementary and Alternative Medicine and Contextual (Geographic) Data. Users can export datasets as studies packaged with relevant documentation and multiple file formats.
To access the data in the Social Science Electronic Data Library (SSEDL), click on "Browse" and select "Data."