Skip to main content

NYU Libraries logo

Theatre & Performance Studies: Search Articles

This guide is intended as a starting place for researchers, pointing to tools for finding books, scholarly articles, reviews, and other topical and collection-related information in Theatre.

INTRODUCTION: HOW TO LOCATE RELEVANT ARTICLES: This list contains databases that are both multidiscipiinary and subject specific.

The EBSCO QUICK SEARCH FOR JOURNALS, is a great way to get an overview of your topic. Then you can visit subject specific databases to get more targeted results.

If you are Crossing Disciplines, try using the databases listed below. To find the A-Z list of databases go to Articles& Databases from the library main page and you will see the A-Z list on the right hand side of the page.

Limiting to "Peer Reviewed" Articles

"Peer reviewed"  (or "refereed" journals) are those that subject content to a critical review by other experts in the field prior to accepting a manuscript for publication. Thus, limiting your literature search to the peer-reviewed journals ensures a higher level of scholarship and research methodology.  Magazines, trade journals, and newspapers tend to be "non-peer-reviewed," meaning perhaps just the editor or someone who is not an expert in the field has reviewed the content before publishing.  How do you know if a journal citation is from a peer-reviewed journal?

  • You can do a journal title search in Ulrich's Global Serials Directory.  The symbol:   indicates a journal is "refereed"
  • You can look for the "Limits" feature in many databases to narrow search results by publication type. 
     

This photo Paul Robeson and Uta Hagen is an example of what can be found when one does In depth Shakespearean research

A scene from Othello with Paul Robeson as Othello and Uta Hagen as Desdemona, Theatre Guild Production, Broadway, 1943-44

[Scene from Othello with Paul Robeson as Othello and Uta Hagen as Desdemona, Theatre Guild Production, Broadway, 1943-44] https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Robeson_Hagen_Othello.jpg

International Databases : These databases index international journals and topics

 

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a time-saving, scholarly search interface accessible from within the Google interface. With Google Scholar, you can access peer-reviewed journal articles, books and book sections. For literature searching, specialized databases have more functionality and access more comprehensive results, but Google Scholar is a good tool

Google Scholar Search