The Avery Fisher Center (AFC) resides on Floor 7 of Bobst Library. Our video collection (DVDs, blu-rays, and videocassettes) contains an extensive variety of classic and contemporary feature films from the U.S. and around the world, as well as TV series,
A direct link to BobCat to search for books, journals, videos, etc. in our local libraries and special collections.
To find images within books in BobCat go to the search box and click on advanced. Then enter the topic in the first box limited to Anywhere in the Record. In the second box enter either illus. (for illustrations) or Plates (for color plates) also Anywhere in the Record.
Digital Campus, by Swank Motion Pictures, is a video streaming service that allows faculty and instructors to provide students enrolled in their courses online access to films assigned for course reserve viewing.
ARTstor is a repository of images of art, architecture, and design. It includes a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and teaching. ARTstor is supplemented by additional content, including thousands of licensed images (primarily art and architecture) ; additional supplemental images include locally-produced NYU collections: United Automobile Workers of America, District 65 Photographs Collection - Part I: Negatives and the Tamiment/Wagner Poster and Broadside Collection.
In order to download images, users must create an artstor account. Faculty members may request special privileges that allow the creation of image groups, personal collections, and more.
Digital Theatre PlusDigital Theatre Plus offers full-length filmed stage performances of classic and modern plays, along with interviews and workshops with playwrights, directors, designers, actors, musicians, and others involved in the playmaking process.
Dance in Videocontain 250 dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the form.
Theatre in VideoNEW CONTENT! There are now 360 videos totaling 433 hours. Performances here include works by Shakespeare, Tennessee Williams, Wendy Wasserstein, John Cheever, Maxwell Anderson, Lanford Wilson, Terrence McNally, Jean Cocteau, D.H. Lawrence, Conor McPherson, and Clifford Odets, among others. There are also interviews with important figures in the development of Black Theatre, such as Ossie Davis, Joseph Papp, Lloyd Richards, Douglas Turner Ward, Amiri Baraka, and Derek Walcott. Contains more than 250 performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 documentaries, all in streaming video.
Theatre in Video: Volume IITheatre in Video Volume 2 offers more filmed productions of plays as well as documentaries on theatre topics.
BBC Shakespeare PlaysThe BBC Shakespeare Plays features full-length performances of the complete corpus of William Shakespeare's plays, produced by the British Broadcasting Company for television between 1978 and 1985.
Anthropology OnlineAnthropology Online brings together a wide range of written ethnographies, field notes, seminal texts, memoirs, and contemporary studies, covering human behavior the world over. Essential for study in the areas of politics, economics, history, psychology, environmental studies, religion, area studies, linguistics, and geography, the database will contain more than over 100,000 pages of full-text material at completion, including tens of thousands of pages of previously unpublished material from major archives.