Skip to main content

NYU Libraries logo

Theatre & Performance Studies: Finding Plays

This guide is intended as a starting place for researchers, pointing to tools for finding books, scholarly articles, reviews, and other topical and collection-related information in Theatre.

Trying to find a monologue or scene? These databases allow you to search by subject, or number of members in the cast.

Most of our books of monologues have call numbers beginning with PN 2080 and are shelved on the 8th floor.  In BobCat There is no specific subject heading for scene books. you can perform a keyword search in the catalog for the term monologues.  I'd recommend using the Play Index. It will restrict the play by gender, and number of people in the cast.

 

Here are some new plays you may not have read.

Can't find the play your looking for in BobCat? We have a great collection of online plays. Many of the plays in the collections also have access to monologue searching and related works.

Here are a few other online plays via the Internet that may be useful

Play review web resources for plays way, way, way off Broadway!

Finding play reviews online is easy when you use these databases.

These theater review resources are mainly located OFFSITE so you may want to use the online links instead

A Guide to Critical Reviews, by James M. Salem. New York, Scarecrow Press, 1966-71. 4 parts in 5 vols. NYU Bobst ; located OFFSITE Z5782 .S34
Contents: pt. 1. American drama from O'Neill to Albee.--pt. 2. The musical from Rodgers and Hart to Lerner and Loewe.--pt. 3. British & continental drama from Ibsen to Pinter.--pt. 4. The screenplay, from The jazz singer to Dr. Strangelove (2 v.)
                                       2nd edition. 1973-76. 
Contents: pt. 1. American drama, 1909-1969.--pt. 2. The musical, 1909-1974.--pt. 3. Foreign drama, 1909-1977
                                       3rd edition. 1984-1991. 
Contents: pt. 1. American drama, 1909-1982 -- pt. 2. The musical. 1909-1989.
 
New York Theatre Critics' Reviews. New York, Critics' Theatre Reviews, inc. 1940-1994.  NYU Bobst ; 1st Floor Reference PN1601 .N4 Locate OFF SITE
"Theatre reviews is a complete guide and record of the New York stage, reprinted from New York sun, New York times, New York herald tribune, New York post, New York daily news, New York world telegram" 1940- ; reprinted from the New York daily news, Wall Street journal, Time, New York post, Women's wear daily, New York times, Christian science monitor, Newsweek, NBC
 
Theatre Record (formerly London Theatre Record). 1991 - date.  NYU Bobst ; 1st Floor Reference ; PN2596.L6 L66 (Current issues in REF1 Desk) locate OFFSITE
Reprints published reviews of theatrical performances in London and elsewhere in the UK. Includes production credits and dates of performance. Review sources include The Spectator, The Daily Mail, Mail on Sunday, Independent, Time Out, Guardian, The Times and other UK publications. Annual Index.
 
New York Times Theater Reviews. New York Times and Arno, 1971- .  Bobst OFF SITE (PN1581 .N42n) YEARS:1971-1999/2000
Facsimile reprints of the reviews of theater productions as they appeared in the New York Times. Arranged chronologically, the set also includes appendices of awards and prizes and of productions and runs by season as well as indexes by title, production company, and personal name. The first 21 volumes cover the years 1870-1970. Since then volumes have been published biannually. [NOTE: these reviews can also be found online through Proquest Historical Newspapers]
 
Samples, Gordon. How to Locate Reviews of Plays and Films: a Bibliography of Criticism from the Beginnings to the Present. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1976. Offsite Available NYU Bobst ; Main Collection ; Z5781 .S19
Lists resources for finding theatrical reviews, including indexing services, theatre periodicals, reference guides, etc. Somewhat dated, but still useful for historical research.