Skip to main content

NYU Libraries logo

Theatre & Performance Studies: Internet Links

This guide is intended as a starting place for researchers, pointing to tools for finding books, scholarly articles, reviews, and other topical and collection-related information in Theatre.

The Performing Arts Encyclopedia has been retired, but research databases related to the performing arts that were featured on the PAE will continue to be available from a new page, “Performing Arts Databases.”

Internet Archive is a non-profit digital library offering free universal access to books, movies & music, as well as 376 billion archived web pages.

Americans for the Arts is a nonprofit organization whose primary focus is advancing the arts in the United States.

The Association for Theatre in Higher Education (ATHE) is a United States-based non-profit membership organization whose mission is "To support and advance the study and practice of theatre and performance in higher education."

ASTR is a US-based association dedicated to theatre and performance scholars by serving hundreds of members globally.

ArteEast is a Non-profit, English online arts blog focused on the Middle East featuring artists from the region, art residencies, art news & events

Other Important Library Collections

Digital Collections

Theatre Without Borders (TWB) was created to share information and to help build links for individuals and institutions interested in international theatre exchange.

The Internet Broadway Database, IBDB (Internet Broadway Database) archive is the official database for Broadway theatre information. IBDB provides records of productions from the beginnings of New York theatre until today.

The Lortel Archives, also known as www.IOBDB.com (Internet Off-Broadway Database) provides a catalogue of shows produced Off-Broadway.

Vaudeville!

2nd Avenue Online, The Yiddish Theater Celebrated and Remembered. Yiddish theater in New York and across the United States had a vital impact on the American entertainment

Looking for statistics about Broadway grosses and attendance? The Broadway League's 700-plus members include theatre owners and operators, producers, presenters, and general managers in North American cities.