These are some databases that you can use to search for scholarly articles about art and related fields. For a complete list of Art and Architecture Databases, go to library.nyu.edu, Articles and Databases, and then select Art and Architecture.
Art & Architecture Source is an essential research database for peer-reviewed, full-text art and architecture journals with coverage dating back to 1914. Subjects include fine, decorative, and commercial art, as well as architecture, landscape, urban planning, and architectural design. With strong international coverage, including periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch, it offers hundreds of full-text art journals, magazines, and books, plus detailed indexing and abstracts, and thousands of images. It also includes the contents of Art Index Retrospective (1929-1984), formerly called Art Source.
A comprehensive survey of current publications in the fields of visual and applied arts, the Art, Design & Architecture Collection includes ProQuest's specialist indexes ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) (covering modern and contemporary art), Design & Applied Arts Index (DAAI) (for all aspects of design and crafts), and International Bibliography of Art (IBA) (covering scholarship on western art history), together with a complementary collection of current full-text journals from ProQuest's Arts & Humanities Database.
Artists of the World Online contains reference works on artists' biographies. It includes content from Allgemeines Künstlerlexikon Online (AKL) and essays on visual artists, architects, and designers active from antiquity through the present day. Scroll down on database homepage to access PDF version of abbreviation key.
Oxford Art Online allows searching across both the Benezit Dictionary of Artists and Grove Art Online. The Benezit Dictionary of Artists is a standard reference collection of artists' biographies. It is international in scope, and covers all periods and styles. In addition to biographies, many entries include bibliographies, auction sales data, and images of signatures, monograms, or other marks of identification. Grove Art Online is composed of signed, scholarly encyclopedia entries on all aspects of global art, design and architecture. Individual articles are updated periodically, and new articles reflecting contemporary developments in the arts are added on a regular basis.
Popular Art Periodicals
Popular art periodicals can be great resources for information on contemporary artists, exhibition reviews, and art auctions. Use the "search within this publication" feature to search for articles by keyword. You can also search all of these simultaneously by using the database Art and Architecture Source.
This complete digital edition of Josef Albers' classic text "Interaction of Color" is packed with features that help you to explore the book’s ideas and experiment with color.
Features include navigation between text, commentary, and 122 of the original edition's plates, access to archival audio and video of Josef Albers leading you through special exercises, and the ability to create and share your own version of interactive plates.
The Electronic Arts Intermix Educational Streaming online catalog provides access to full-length streaming videos for selected artists from EAI's full collection. EAI is a nonprofit arts organization whose core program is the distribution and preservation of historical video works by artists. The collection spans from the mid-1960's to the present.
The China Research Gateway (CRG) database is a centralized means for discovery and access to an array of Chinese resources, including scholarly journals, monographs, statistical publications, government documents, newspapers, and dissertations. Contains CNKI databases, including China Academic Journals and many others.Includes China Art Digital Library.
Important Update: Effective March 20, 2024 full-text downloads of the following content remain temporarily suspended:
China Doctoral Dissertations (CDMD-CDFD) – Series A,B,C,D,E,G,I
China Master’s Theses (CDMD-CMFD) – Series A,B,C,D,E,G,I
China Patents (SCPD)
Discovery via browse and search, citations and abstracts data, and ongoing updates will continue during suspension.
-----
Databases include:
JOURNAL AND SERIAL PUBLICATIONS
China Academic Journals (CAJ) / 中国期刊全文数据库
China Monographic Serials (CMSD) / 中国学术辑刊全文数据库
China Yearbooks (CYFD) / 中国年鉴网络出版总库
DISSERTATIONS
China Doctoral Dissertations (CDMD-CDFD) / 中国博士学位论文全文数据库
China Master's Theses (CDMD-CMFD) / 中国优秀硕士学位论文全文数据库
REFERENCE
China Reference Works (CRWO) / 中国工具书网络出版总库
NEWS MEDIA
China Core Newspapers (CCND) / 中国重要报纸全文数据库
ENGLISH CONTENT
AcademicFocus (AF) / 中国英文学术期刊全文数据库
Academic Reference (AR) / 中国英文资源整合平台
China Data Insights (CDI) / 中国英文版统计年鉴
And, databases covering more subjects:
CITATIONS, INDEXING ANALYSIS - **Please note: University Research Achievements Analysis (USAD) / 中国高校科研成果统计分析数据库 is only available through on-campus computers. Please use IP log-in option ("登 录"/"IP登 录") to access the database.**
SCIENCE, TECHNOLOGY, INDUSTRY
LAW
MEDICINE
HUMANITIES AND SOCIAL SCIENCES (Art, Economics, and more)
EDUCATION
Important Update: Access to the following CNKI Subject Databases will be resumed by March 20, 2024:
China Legal Knowledge (CLKD)
Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCMD)
The journal of the National Institute of Etruscan and Italic Studies. Online access to this journal for NYU students, faculty, and staff is only accessible via this proxied link. You will be prompted to login with your NYU Net ID.
Search for Dissertations and Theses
Dissertations and theses are great resources because of their extensive bibliographies on a particular subject, which can lead you to relevant resources. These databases can also be used to decide if your thesis or dissertation idea is original.
Once a year, each institution granting the PhD in art history and/or visual studies submits dissertation titles to CAA for publication. The most recently published list is from 2018. You can browse by listing date or by subject matter. Each entry identifies the student’s name, dissertation title, school, and advisor.
Dialnet indexes scholarship primarily from the Hispanic world in the form of articles, dissertations, book reviews, and conference proceedings, with a primary emphasis on the humanities, social sciences, and law, as well as publications in the pure and applied sciences. The resource provides links to open-access full-text content when available.
CDMD is a comprehensive database of dissertations and theses in China.
Important Update: Effective March 20, 2024 full-text downloads of the following content remain temporarily suspended: China Doctoral Dissertations (CDMD-CDFD) – Series A,B,C,D,E,G,I
Discovery via browse and search, citations and abstracts data, and ongoing updates will continue during suspension.
-----
Use Internet Explorer, NOT Firefox, to access this database. NYU users have access to (F) Literature/History/Philosophy only.
