Skip to main content

Cinema Studies: Finding Books

This selective guide to the literature of cinema is intended as a starting place for researchers, pointing to tools for finding books, scholarly articles, reviews, and collection-related information.

Browsing Books is still worthwhile. Take a moment to look at what is in the stacks.

Rediscover one of the best technologies that was ever invented! The book!

Academic libraries that use the Library of Congress Classification Outline (the majority of them) can easily be browsed for serendipitous discovery of wonderful books in your subject area. All you need to know is the call number range https://library.nyu.edu/about/collections/search-collections/call-numbers/ to get yourself situated.
Library of Congress Call Number Areas:

PN1992 Television (history, theory, individual shows, writing for television)
PN1993 Film journals
PN1993.5 Film history (general history first, then grouped alphabetically by country)
PN1994-1995 Film theory and appreciation
PN1995.9 Films by special topics (e.g., detective films, film noir, war films, etc.)
PN1996 Screenplay writing
PN1997 Screenplays
PN1998 Directors (biographies and criticism)
PN2000-2900 Actors and actresses (biographies and studies)

References Books are availble on the 1st fl. of bobst but sometimes you need the convience of doing research at home. Here is list of good online reference materials.

Google Books

Google Scholar is a time-saving, scholarly search interface accessible from within the Google interface. With Google Scholar, you can access peer-reviewed journal articles, books and book sections. For literature searching, specialized databases have more functionality and access more comprehensive results, but Google Scholar is a good tool

Google Book Search

NEW! Las Naves

Search for books, journals and other print materials, videos, sound recordings, e-books, e-journals, databases, and indexes in local libraries and special collections

Some helpful hints for searching BobCat

Below are some hints on using the Bobst Catalog to find titles:

  1. If you are looking for a specific title and get too many hits, also search by the name of the screenwriter or author (NOT the director). This often helps narrow down hits quickly.
  2. To browse screenplays, try a more general search for the term Motion picture plays.
  3. However, keep in mind that many published scripts (especially for television) have no subject heading at all, and will only have the words "script," "scripts," or "screenplay" in the title. You can, however, do a subject seach for the name of a film or program, and this will sometimes produce a title that includes the script.

Finding Books Outside of Bobst can somtime be difficult. Worldcat is a great place to find those hard to find books and films.

If your having a hard time finding a particular film or book this is the place to look! It contains more than 43 million records describing items owned by our libraries or libraries around the world.

Once you have located an film or book that Bobst does not have access to, Inter Library Loan or EZBorrow is the place to go.

Online Texts are very convient and easy to search and use. I've just listed a few of online texts that I often use of research in Cinema Studies.

Don't forget , Oxford Bibliographies Online: Cinema and Media Studies to find some of the most highly thought of texts.

History from the American Cinema examines the development of film and the film industry, analyzing both the genres, themes, and technology that defined each decade, as well as the political and economic background that gave rise to them. Each volume focus

The Bioscope

Don't have time to browse? Here are a few new titles you may want to check out.