Skip to main content

NYU Libraries logo

Cinema Studies: Search Articles

This selective guide to the literature of cinema is intended as a starting place for researchers, pointing to tools for finding books, scholarly articles, reviews, and collection-related information.

How to Search for Articles: I have listed the most common databases for use in Cinema research below. Not all the Library databases are available here. You can search by Subject, content type,

GEORGE AMBERG MEMORIAL FILM STUDY CENTER

https://tisch.nyu.edu/content/dam/tisch/cinema-studies/spaces-of-cs/Study_Center_2015.JPG

The Skirball Center also houses the William K. Everson Film Collection, containing over 4,000 feature-length films and a like number of short subjects spanning every filmmaking genre, along with an extensive manuscript collection of original scripts, autobiographical materials, correspondence and ephemera; the holdings are particularly strong in materials documenting the silent film era.

Where else should I look for articles about Moving Image Archiving and Preservation? Visit the Moving Image Libguide.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a time-saving, scholarly search interface accessible from within the Google interface. With Google Scholar, you can access peer-reviewed journal articles, books and book sections. For literature searching, specialized databases have more functionality and access more comprehensive results, but Google Scholar is a good tool

Google Scholar Search

Often research in cinema entails use of a crossdisciplinary approach. I have chosen just one from each discipline. Use the A-Z list on the library opening page for more ideas on how to integrate ideas.

A great starting place for business research, these databases cover business conditions, trends, management techniques, corporate strategies, and industry-specific topics worldwide.

If your looking for Peer Reviewed articles then Ulrichsweb is the place to go

Import Change to Cinema Databases!!! What is the difference between Screen Studies Collection and Screen Studies Bloomsbury.

Continuing with a crossdisciplinary approach to cinema research, I recommend the following International Databases