Search the PDF full text and image archives of more than 100 major U.S. and African American newspapers.
Highlights include: Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945), Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Chicago Tribune (1849-1986), Christian Science Monitor (1908-2004), Los Angeles Times (1881-1995), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002), The Chicago Defender (1910 - 1975), The New York Times (1851-2014), The New York Tribune (1841-1922), The New York Tribune (1900-1910), San Francisco Chronicle (1869-1922), The Wall Street Journal (1889-2000), The Washington Post (1877-2001), St. Petersburg Times / Tampa Bay Times (1901-2009), Korea Times (1956-2016)
America's Historical Newspapers includes articles from local and regional American and Hispanic American newspapers from all 50 states. Coverage dates from 1690 to the early 20th century. Articles have been scanned as PDFs and include images and advertisements, and are full text searchable.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online is a multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the nineteenth century, with archives releasing incrementally. ** The database includes the collections Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange; British Politics & Society; British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture; Children's Literature and Childhood; Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest; European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection; Mapping the World: Maps and Travel Literature; Photography: The World Through the Lens; Religion, Society, Spirituality, and Reform; Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925, Parts I and II; And Women: Transnational Networks. **
NYU's subscription provides the full text of several periodicals (and a few publically available books). It is particularly strong on African American and abolitionist newspapers, the history of the United States before Reconstruction, and the campaign for women's suffrage in the United States.
Allows you to view newspaper pages from 1880 to 1910 from the following states: California, District of Columbia, Florida, Kentucky, Minnesota, Nebraska, New York, Texas, Utah, and Virginia.
Historical Newspapers: Individual Titles Online
For each of these newspapers, you'll find full page and article images with searchable full text. Each
newspaper collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every
page from every available issue.
This database provides archival access to the following magazines: U. S. News & World Report, Time, Sports Illustrated, People, Life, Fortune, Forbes, Esquire, Businessweek, Architectural Digest, Maclean's, The Atlantic and Vanity Fair. Users can search across these magazines, or select individual titles.
Search a selection of periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals.
The Nation Archive Premium Edition contains indexing, abstracting, and full text for the complete archive of The Nation, beginning with its first issue in 1865 all the way to the present. The Nation is America’s oldest weekly magazine and one if its premier journals of opinion since its inception in 1865.
Provides indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.Dates of coverage: 1890-1982. Use the Readers' Guide Full Text for 1983 forward.
Harper's Magazine is a news and general interest monthly magazine, featuring news, essays, fiction, and more. The archive includes coverage from the beginning of publication in 1850 to present day issues.
OpinionArchives provides access to commentaries and opinion pieces on topics related to politics, culture, and the arts. These titles include American Spectator, Commentary, Commonweal, Dissent, Harpers Magazine, NACLA, The New Leader, The Nation, The National Review, The New Republic, The New York Review of Books, and The New Yorker. Coverage extends as far back as 1850.