Note: Also see Book Trade and Directories tabs above for other resources that list periodicals.
Bibliographies of Journals
- Guide to Scholarly Journals in Black Studies.
Chicago, Ill. : Chicago Center for Afro American Studies and Research, 1981.
Bobst Ref1 Z1361.N39 G83. Holdings: vol 7- (1992/93- )
Offers detailed information on professional journals in the field of black studies. Each entry includes background information, general information on content and range of subjects covered, submission information, and subscription information.. Arrangement in slphabetical by journal title, with indexes for subjects and names.
- MLA Directory of Periodicals.
New York, Modern Language Association of America. [1st]- ed.; 1978/79-
Bobst REF1 Desk PB1.M27x HOLDINGS: Latest edition only
Provides information about journals published world wide concerning literature. Use the subject index to look for terms such as: "French literature," "French Language," and "French Studies," as well as more specific categories such as "French-speaking peoples," "Caribbean Literature, in French," "African Literature, French language," etc.
- Haiti: Guide to the Periodical Literature in English, 1800-1990.
comp. Pratt, Frantz. New York : Greenwood Press, 1991.
Bobst Ref1 Z1531 .H35 1991
Bibliography of periodical articles on Haiti's physical setting, social issues, culture, economics, geopolitical influence, and history. Section III (pp 73-104) covers language and literature (French and Creole). Includes indexes for authors and magazine titles.
- Modern Language Association International Bibliography.
Norwood, MA : SilverPlatter Information, c1992- .
- West Indian literature: An Index to Criticism, 1930-1975.
Allis, Jeannette B. New York: G.K. Hall, c1981.
Bobst Ref1 Z1502.B5 A38
An index of periodicals and newspapers, as well as essay collections. The same information is provided in three formats: by author as subject, by critics and reviewers, and by article title (arranged by year of publication). A brief appendix lists other books on West Indian Literature.
Library Catalogs and Union Catalogs for Periodicals
- CRL's Foreign Newspapers Database
Author / Publisher: Center for Research Libraries.
Database of foreign newspapers held at CRL. Contains more than 6,000 newspaper titles published outside the United States. Holdings from the various Area Study Microform Projects are included. Bobst Library is a member of CRL and items can be borrowed by eligable patrons through Interlibrary Loan.
- CRL's Ethnic Press Database
Author / Publisher: Center for Research Libraries.
Database of periodicals and newspapers published by various ethnic groups in North America held by CRL. Contains more than 2,000 titles.. Bobst Library is a member of CRL and items can be borrowed by eligable patrons through Interlibrary Loan.
- Periodicals from Africa : A Bibliography and Union List of Periodicals Published in Africa.
Travis, Carole. Boston : G. K. Hall, c1977.
The aim of this bibliography is to provide as comprehensive a list as possible of periodicals published in Africa, and to give locations for those titles held in libraries in the United Kingdom. Covers all countries of the continent of Africa except Egypt. Coverage of South Africa is partial and only reflects material held in United Kingdom libraries. Includes both continuing and ceased periodicals. Note: cut off date for inclusion was 1973.
- Serials for African Studies.
Library of Congress. African Section.Washington: General Reference and Bibliography Division, Reference Dept., Library of Congress, 1961.
Bobst Ref1 Z3503.L53 1961.
Consists of reproductions of cards pulled from the Library of Congress's catalog. Includes information about the library's holdings of these titles. Note: this catalog is quite old.
Individual Journals available at Bobst or Online: A Select List
- Africana journal. (Formerly: Africana library journal).
[New York, Africana Pub. Co.]
Bobst Z3501 .A47. Holdings: vol 1- (1970- )
Yearly journal publishing articles, bibliographies and book reviews. Each volume focuses on 2-3 specific questions.
- African Studies Quarterly: The Online Journal of African Studies
Center for African Studies, University of Florida.
ASQ is an interdisciplinary, fully refereed, online journal dedicated to publishing the finest scholarship relating to African continent.
- Algerie Littérature/Action
Bobst PQ3988.A5 A444. Holdings: vol 1- (1996- )
A forum for both literature and criticism, including in each issue short novels, short stories, poetry, interviews, and literary criticism.
- Etudes littéraires maghrébines. Bulletin de Liaison.
Villetaneuse, France: Coordination internationale des chercheurs sur les littératures maghrébines. vol. 1- (1989- )
Bobst Ref1 PQ3980.A2E88x. Holdings: vol 7- (1992/93- )
One or two numbers per year. Each issue contains a wide variety of information, including bibliographies of new books and translations, dissertations, book reviews, a calendar of events, calls for papers, etc..
- Journal of West Indian Literature. Bridgetown, Barbados : Dept. of English, University of the West Indies, c1986-
Bobst PR9210.A1 J67 Holdings: 1- (1986-)
Twice yearly publication. Articles in English on the literature of the English-speaking Caribbean or non-english speaking ccaribbean literature if the scholarship is comparative in nature.
- Matatu. Journal for African Culture and Society.
Gottingen: Matatu, 1987- .
Bobst DT1.M35 Holdings: 8, 15-
Covers North and Sub-saharan Africa.
- Mots Pluriels, et grands themes de notre temps: Revue électronique de Lettres à caractère international.
University of Western Australia.
Refereed international journal.
- Notre librairie.
[Paris] : C.L.E.F..
Bobst PN841.N67 Holdings: 63-97, 99- (1989-)
Issues concentrate on one particular country or region and offer articles obout the literature, oral culture, theater, and publishing of that region. Also includes bibliography of recently published books and book reviews.
- Research in African Literatures.
African and Afro-American Studies and Research Center, University of Texas, Austin.
Bobst PL8010.A1R4 Holdings: 1- (1970- )
Note the book review section.