- Cambridge History of Africa.
Fage, J.D. and Roland OliverCambridge: Cambridge U.P., 1975- .
accessible in: Cambridge Histories Online
Print: Bobst Ref1DT20.C27x, 8 vols.
Eight-volume set covers African history from pre-history to 1975. Entries are arranged chronogically and by subject. Includes many illustrations, maps, and photos. Each volume includes extensive bibliographies for each chapter and an index of names, concepts, historical events, and geographical regions.
Language Information and Dictionaries
Information about Languages
- Ethnologue: Languages of the World
ed. Grimes, Barbara F. Summer Institute of Linguistics, Inc.: Dallas, Texas, 1996
"Ethnologue is a catalogue of more than 6,700 languages spoken in 228 countries. The Ethnologue Name Index lists over 39,000 language names, dialect names, and alternate names. The Ethnologue Language Family Index organizes languages according to language families."
- Haitian Creole - English - French Dictionary.
dir. Valdman, Albert. Bloomington, IN.: Indiana University, Creole Institute, c1981.
Bobst Ref1 PM7852 .H34, 2 vols.
Permits translation between Creole and English/French. It documents Haitian Creole as spoken in Port-au-Prince and vicinity. Volume 1 includes notes on orthography, phonetics, some grammar, and a 2 1/2 page bibliography on the Haitian Creole language.
Note: See the PM7851 and PM7852 area of Bobst's stacks for more works on french-creole language and dictionaries.
General Francophone Literature Dictionaries
- Selected Black American, African, and Caribbean Authors: A Bio-bibligraphy.
Page, James A. and Jae Min Roh. Littleton, CO: Libraries Unlimited, 1985.
Bobst Ref1 Z1229.N39 P34 1985
Provides basic biographical information and brief bibliography.
- Littératures nationales d'écriture française: Afrique noire Caraïbes, Océan Indien: Histoire littéraire et anthologie.
Rouch, Alain, and Gerard Clavreuil. Paris: Bordas, c1986.
Bobst Ref1 PQ3809.R68 1986
For each country, offers a brief history, literary history, brief biographies of select authors, an excerpt of their work, and a brief bibliography of the author's work.
- African Writers.
Cox, C. Brian. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, c1997.
Bobst Ref1 PL8010.A453 1997, 2 vols.
Arranged alphabetically by name of author. Each entry offers a brief introductory statement, a longer biographical article, a long essay on the author's works, and a selected bibliography of the author's works and critical studies. Volume 1 also contains a list of writers by country and a chronology of African history.
North Africa / Maghreb
- Dictionnaire des oeuvres Algériennes en langue Française.
Paris: L'Harmattan, 1990.
Bobst Ref1 PQ3988.5.A5 D53 1990
Covers the period 1834-1989, works written in or translated into French. Arranged alphabetically by title of work, provides brief analytical summaries of the work. Aside from author's name and dates, this work offers no biographical information about the author. Also includes an index of authors.
- Dictionary of African Biography.
New York : Reference Publications, c1977-.
Bobst Ref1 DT18 .D55
Arranged by country, then alphabetically by name. Signed articles written by specialists in the field. For each entry, a bibliography of writing about the subject is included. Twenty volumes were originally planned for this series. Bobst owns the three volumes that have been published as of 2011: v. 1. Ethiopia, Ghana -- v. 2. Sierra Leone, Zaire -- v. 3. South Africa, Botswana, Lesotho, Swaziland.
- Dictionnaire des oeuvres littéraires africaines de langue française.
Pius Ngandu Nkashama. Ivry-sur-Seine [France]: Editions nouvelles du sud, c1994.
Bobst Ref1 PQ3980.A52 P587 1994
Arranged first by genre (Roman-récit-conte, Poésie, Théâtre), then alphabetically by author name. Under each author entry, the author's works are summarized title by title. Also contains an author index and title index.
- Dictionnaire des oeuvres littéraires de langue française en Afrique au sud du Sahara.
Kom, Ambroise. San Francisco: International Scholars Publications, 1996.
Bobst Ref1 PQ3980.A52 1996, 2 vols.
Arranged alphabetically by title of work, each entry provides a medium-length or longer essay describing the work, themes, its place in the author's oeuvre, influence, critical reception, etc. Vol 1: "Des origines à 1978." Vol 2: "De 1979 à 1989."
- Caribbean Writers: A Bio-bibliographical Critical Encyclopedia.
Herdeck, Donald E., et. al.Washington: Three Continents Press, c1979.
Bobst Ref1 PN849.C3 C3
4 volumes bound into one work. Volume 2 concerns francophone literature from the Caribbean (pp. 261-545). Includes introductory essaies, brief biographical entries for authors, and short bibliographies of their works. Also includes a list of critical studies and anthologies on Francophone literature and a list of selected journals of interest. Note: this work is quite old.
- Encyclopedia of Caribbean literature.
Figueredo, Danilo H. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press; c2006.
Bobst Ref1 PN849.C3 E53 2006
More than 700 entries on the lives and works of Caribbean authors. (2 volumes.)