Research Guides: Reference Materials at NYU Libraries: Bibliographies, Indexes, and Directories

What's on this page?

Bibliographies arrange citations related to particular topics.

Bibliographies

American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (ABSEES) This link opens in a new window
American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (ABSEES) indexes journals, books, dissertations, online resources and selected government publications published in the U.S. and Canada. The bibliography covers East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union.
Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL) This link opens in a new window
The Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL) indexes scholarship in the fields of English language and literature, folklore, and English-language film and television studies.
Archiv Bibliographia Judaica - Deutschsprachiges Judentum Database This link opens in a new window
Archiv Bibliographia Judaica – Deutschsprachiges Judentum Online compiles and collects bio-bibliographic information on more than 20,000 German-speaking Jews who were leading figures in literature, philosophy, religion, art, music and politics. Based on the Archive Bibliographia Judaica (ABJ) in Frankfurt am Main, founded by Renate Heuer, the database is a distinctive document of German-Jewish heritage.
ARTbibliographies Modern This link opens in a new window
ARTbibliographies Modern provides indexing to art, architecture and design journals, essays, books, exhibition catalogs and dissertations. Publications indexed date from approximately 1973 through the present, while the subject focus is late 19th-century to the present.
BHC Collective Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The Business History Conference is a scholarly organization devoted to encouraging all aspects of research, writing, and teaching about business history and about the environment in which businesses operate. Founded in 1954, the organization is now international in scope, with approximately 30 percent of its membership residing outside North America.
Bibliografa de la Literatura Espaola This link opens in a new window
Bibliografía de la Literatura Española is a comprehensive index of scholarship on literature by Spanish writers and by writers from colonial Latin America and the Philippines before independence. It covers monographs, journal articles, critical editions, book reviews, bibliographies, and conference proceedings.
Bibliographia Franciscana This link opens in a new window
Bibliographia Franciscana is a digitized version of the Bibliographia Franciscana, an annual supplement of Collectanea Franciscana. The database contains bibliographical references to books, pamphlets, articles, and more in all languages, about Franciscan studies, from 1929 to present. It also includes aids and work tools, material about St. Francis, material about the Franciscans and their doctrines, their history, their missions, their orders, St. Clare of Assisi and the Poor Clare order, and Franciscan art. Also found here will be work on famous Franciscan authors, such as Roger Bacon, John Duns Scotus, William Ockham, and Raymond Lull.
Bibliographia Internationalis Spiritualitatis This link opens in a new window
The Bibliographia Internationalis Spiritualitatis offers an academic bibliography in spiritual theology, Carmelite studies and theological anthropology and is proposed by the Pontifical Theological Faculty Teresianum in cooperation with the Institutum Carmelitanum, both located in Rome.
Bibliographie Annuelle du Moyen ge Tardif This link opens in a new window
The Bibliographie Annuelle du Moyen Âge Tardif contains bibliographic records about late medieval authors and texts, and includes the manuscripts cited in catalogues by library collections, by genres, or by authors as well as in editions or other studies. This database is a digitized version of Bibliographie Annuelle du Moyen Âge Tardif and is published in collaboration with the Institut de Recherche et d’Histoire des Textes (Paris).
Bibliographie der Deutschen Sprach und Literaturwissenschaft (BDSL) This link opens in a new window
An international Bibliography of German Literature and Literary Studies. Established as a special bibliography of the University Library Frankfurt am Main the "Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft" (BDSL) has been published by Vittorio Klostermann Verlag since 1957 and comprises world-wide coverage of published literature on the German language, literature and general Germanic studies.
Bibliography of American Literature This link opens in a new window
The Bibliography of American Literature describes the works of America's most important literary writers from the time of the Revolution to 1930. This database is based on the print Bibliography of American Literature (Yale University Press, 1955-1991) compiled by Jacob Blanck and completed by Michael Winship and Virginia L. Smyers.
Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
The online version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide and in Western languages.
Bibliography of British and Irish History This link opens in a new window
The Bibliography of British and Irish History provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55 BC to the present. It is the successor to the Royal Historical Society Bibliography of British and Irish History, available online from 2002 to 2009. The complete database now contains just over 600,000 records, and is updated three times a year, usually in February, June and October.
Bibliography of English Women Writers (1500-1640) This link opens in a new window
The Bibliography of English Women Writers 1500-1640 has evolved into a still-growing list of scholarship about 738 recovered writers and located texts, canonical and non-canonical. It identifies many hitherto unknown writers, including among them not only already familiar figures, but also women refugees such as the recusants, women in the colonies, Marrano women (Anusot), women translators, and English women writers in French, Greek, Latin, Spanish, Irish Gaelic, Scottish Gaelic and Welsh.
Bibliography of Slavic Linguistics This link opens in a new window
The Bibliography of Slavic Linguistics Online brings together the details of substantial number of unique publications, carefully selected, classified, cross-referenced and indexed by professional bibliographers. All contributing bibliographers are specialized Slavists themselves. The selection includes over thirty publication languages including publications in Finnish, Estonian, Greek, Albanian, Dutch, English, German, Japanese, Hebrew. Marc L. Greenberg has written a special Introduction (see Introduction tab) giving an overview of the state of scholarship in Slavic linguistics and the directions in which the field is headed.
Bibliography of the History of Art This link opens in a new window
As a single database combining Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA) (International repertory of the literature of art),1975-1989, and Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA), 1990-2007, it covers scholarship on European and American visual arts from late antiquity to the present. It includes indexes and abstracts of art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 1,600 journals. BHA was produced jointly by the Getty Research Institute (GRI) and the Institut de l’Information Scientifique et Technique (INIST) until 2007, when it continued as the International Bibliography of Art (IBA), provided through the art, design, and architecture collection of ProQuest.
Faculty Bibliography (NYU School of Medicine, College of Dentistry, College of Nursing) (NYU Health Sciences Library) This link opens in a new window
A service from the NYU Health Sciences Libraries, the Faculty Bibliography gathers citations to publications of NYU School of Medicine, College of Dentistry, and College of Nursing faculty into a single easy to use, searchable database. Citations to faculty publications are collected from online databases, such as Medline, HSLCat (the library's online catalog), Biological Abstracts, EMBASE, Web of Science, and PsychInfo. In addition, the bibliography contains citations to published works that do not appear in online databases, but which have been identified by faculty themselves and verified by the library.
International Bibliography of Art This link opens in a new window
International Bibliography of Art (IBA) includes indexing for "core" and specialized art and architecture journals. IBA includes many citations to articles in Non-English (primarily European) language journals. IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA).
Iter Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Comprised of secondary source material pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books and journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies) are included, as are citations for dissertation abstracts and essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues).
John Milton Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Milton: A Bibliography, compiled by John Shawcross of the University of Kentucky, brings together all manuscripts and editions of John Milton's works and all studies and critical statements concerning his life and works, all allusions and quotations, and all significant imitations during the years 1624-1799.
Linguistic Bibliography Online This link opens in a new window
Linguistic Bibliography online provides references to scholarly publications in linguistics, covering all disciplines of theoretical linguistics, both general and language specific, from all geographical areas, including endangered and extinct languages, with particular attention to lesser-known Indo-European and non-Indo-European languages. Linguistic Bibliography Online contains all entries of the print Linguistic Bibliography from 1993 onwards, with new entries added monthly.
Medieval Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Medieval Bibliographies is an essential resource for finding articles in the field of Medieval Studies. Includes International Medieval Bibliography and Bibliography of Medieval Civilisation.
MLA International Bibliography (MLAIB) This link opens in a new window
The MLA International Bibliography provides bibliographic records for books, book chapters, journal articles, and dissertations published in the fields of modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Full text is available for some articles. The MLAIB covers items published from around 1920 to the present.
Online Egyptological Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The Online Egyptological Bibliography (OEB) includes the volumes of the previous Annual Egyptological Bibliography (AEB) combined with the Bibliographie Altägypten (BA), covering Egyptological literature from 1822 to 2002, as well as partial treatment of 2003-2012.
Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Oxford Bibliographies presents constantly updated articles that contain citations (with annotations) and commentaries for sources across the disciplines. Users can search topics and gather relevant journal article and book citations, online resources, data sources, and more.
Ukrainian National Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Digitally access a comprehensive bibliography of Ukrainian printed works with the Ukrainian National Bibliography (UDB-BIB-UKR) collection. Bibliographic information for everything printed in Ukraine is available in a searchable, PDF-based resource. Content includes citations from books, newspapers, journals, documentary materials, literary criticism and reviews, fine arts, sheet music, dissertations, and cartographic publications. Users can search in Cyrillic or transliteration to find relevant references. The database coverage is from 2001 to present.
Universal Database of the Russian National Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The Universal Database of Russian National Bibliography (UDB-BIB), developed by East View Information Services, is a tool for navigating citations from books, newspapers, journals, dissertation abstracts, musical scores, even maps, published in Soviet Union and Russian Federation since 1998. Also included in this product is "Knizhnaia letopis’ (1980-1997) which provided access to the Russian national bibliography (books only).
Women writers of Russia: Material for a Biobibliographic Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Women writers of Russia: Material for a Biobibliographic Dictionary is an alphabetical, bio-bibliographical guide of Russian women authors from the 18th century to the present.
World Shakespeare Bibliography Online This link opens in a new window
The World Shakespeare Bibliography Online provides annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare and published or produced from 1960 to the present. The scope is international, with coverage representing every country in North America, South America, and Europe and nearly every country in Asia, Africa, and Australasia.

Directories

Europa World of Learning Online This link opens in a new window
Directory of academic institutions around the world. Includes information on over 30,000 colleges, universities, libraries, learned societies, research institutes, museums, and art galleries. Provides contact information for staff and faculty.

Encyclopedia of Associations: International Organizations
Contains contact info for international (outside of the U.S.) organizations.
Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations
Contains contact info for national (U.S.) organizations. Search by location, interest area, etc.
Encyclopedia of Associations: Regional, State, and Local Organizations
Provides information on more than 100, 000 associations and societies that are organized and function at the regional (both interstate and intrastate), state, county, city, neighborhood, and local levels. Coverage includes all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and the U.S. territories of Guam, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands.

Foundation Directory Online This link opens in a new window
Foundation Directory Online is a database of over 100,000 public and private foundations, corporate giving programs, and grantmaking public charities in the U.S. It provides comprehensive information on grant-makers and their grants. Includes Candid's "Foundation Grants to Individuals Online".
Gale Directory Library This link opens in a new window
Search across a range of directories. Includes: Directory of Special Libraries and Information Centers; Encyclopedia of American Religions; Encyclopedia of Associations - International Organizations; Encyclopedia of Associations - National Organizations of the U.S.; Encyclopedia of Associations - Regional, State and Local Organizations of the U.S.;Encyclopedia of Business Information Sources; Encyclopedia of Governmental Advisory Organizations; Gale Directory of Databases; Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media; Government Research Directory; Information Industry Directory;International Research Centers Directory; Law and Legal Information Directory; Market Share Reporter; National Faculty Directory; Publishers Directory; Research Centers Directory; Ward's Business Directory of U.S. Private and Public Companies;
Leadership Connect This link opens in a new window
Leadership Connect is a database for names and contact information on individuals from government, business, media, and nonprofit organizations.
ReferenceUSA This link opens in a new window
ReferenceUSA contains detailed information on millions US businesses, including historical, closed, and new businesses, along with a standard white pages for access to data on millions of US residents, including new movers and new homeowners.
ReferenceUSA allows users to create personal accounts for saving searches and search criteria.

Annual data available for download beginning in 1997 for research and analysis purposes. Access is available through NYU FDA (Log in with your NYU credentials to view) or through Infogroup Historical Business via WRDS (WRDS account required).

Washington Information Directory
The Washington Information Directory is the essential one-stop source for information on U.S. governmental and nongovernmental agencies and organizations. This thoroughly researched guide provides capsule descriptions that help users quickly and easily find the right person at the right organization.