This guide is intended to help people doing research in the History of the United States of America, defined broadly. It is not intended to be comprehensive. The focus is on topics of research in History Department.
The International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF) brings together institutions dedicated to rescuing and preserving films. This database contains FIAF's Treasures from Film Archives; a detailed index of the silent-era film holdings of archives from around the world, a selection of Reference volumes and the linked full-text of over 60 journals.
Film & Television Literature Index is a comprehensive index covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing and produced for a broad target audience, from film scholars to general viewers. Subject coverage includes: film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Dates of coverage: 1914 to present.
Film Index International is a major information resource for entertainment films and personalities produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute. With a scholarly, inclusive approach to all areas of film studies - from the very first silent movies, to art house classics or the latest blockbusters - Film Index International provides truly international coverage, indexing films from over 170 countries.
Drawn from archives across the globe, this wonderful collection of primary source documents offers a remarkable window on the lives and experiences of men and women during the First World War. The three available modules are 'Personal Experiences', 'Propaganda and Recruitment', and 'Visual Perspectives and Narratives'.
From feast to famine, explore five centuries of primary source material documenting the story of food and drink throughout history. The materials in this collection illustrate the deep links between food and identity, politics and power, gender, race and socio-economic status, as well as charting key issues around agriculture, nutrition and food production.
Food Studies Online includes visual, text, and video materials for food studies, including documentaries, over 5,000 pages of ephemeral materials from the turn of the century through the 1960s, menus from the New York Public Library and Los Angeles Public Library menu collections, and government documents related to food campaigns during WWII and to the US school lunch program.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service provides online access to the daily reports, compiled by the Central Intelligence Agency, of translations of news stories and broadcasts from around the world. Includes coverage of the Foreign Broadcasting Information Service Daily Reports and Annexes from 1974-1996. For post-1996 coverage, see the database World News Connection.
Frick Art Reference Library Periodicals Index is an index of art history journal articles that covers Western European and American fine arts and some decorative arts. It indexes prominent international art history periodicals from the mid-1850s through the 1960s.
Frontier Life: Borderlands, Settlement & Colonial Encounters is a digital collection of primary source documents that provides context for the anglophone world from 1650-1920. Users can discover documents like pamphlets, diaries, letters, and images that reveal the plight of colonizers and indigenous peoples.
Search across a range of directories. Includes: Directory of Special Libraries and Information Centers; Encyclopedia of American Religions; Encyclopedia of Associations - International Organizations; Encyclopedia of Associations - National Organizations of the U.S.; Encyclopedia of Associations - Regional, State and Local Organizations of the U.S.;Encyclopedia of Business Information Sources; Encyclopedia of Governmental Advisory Organizations; Gale Directory of Databases; Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media; Government Research Directory; Information Industry Directory;International Research Centers Directory; Law and Legal Information Directory; Market Share Reporter; National Faculty Directory; Publishers Directory; Research Centers Directory; Ward's Business Directory of U.S. Private and Public Companies;
Gale Literary Sources provides workflow tools and features that will enhance your Gale Literature Collections experience– topic finder, term frequency graphs, search assist functionality, mobile compatibility, and interface translation, along with an easier and more dynamic search
Gale Primary Sources is a groundbreaking research environment that integrates formerly disparate digital collections to enable innovative research. Gale provides an unprecedented, seamless research experience that helps students find a starting point, search across a wide array of materials and points in time, and discover new ways to analyze information. ** The database includes the subscribed collections Eighteenth Century Collections Online; The Making of Modern Law: Foreign Primary Sources; The Making of Modern Law: Foreign, Comparative, and International Law, 1600-1926; The Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926; The Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources; The Making of Modern Law: Trials, 1600-1926; The Making of the Modern World; Nineteenth Century Collections Online; and Sabin Americana, 1500-1926. **
Gallup Analytics provides access to nearly a century of U.S. opinion data (Gallup Daily Tracking) and a decade Gallup World Poll data on economic well-being, education, and other topics. The platform includes new data and historical trends at the country, state and U.S. city levels. Subscribers can view data by demographic categories, compare results across geographies to develop, and compare responses region by region and nation by nation to questions on topics such as economic conditions, government and business, health and wellbeing, infrastructure, and education.
Gallup Brain is an archive of historical public opinion polling in the United States. Users can find summary tables with answers to hundreds of thousands of questions, and responses from millions of people interviewed by The Gallup Poll since 1935. Coverage stops at 2007.
Gallup World Poll and U.S. Daily Tracking data at the respondent level provides a much-enhanced ability to trace connections between concepts and countries. Users can request extracts of the data behind Gallup's data surveys and get extracts that are generated by Data Services.
Users must create an account with Gallup's WorldPoll Reference tool to discover data. See the documentation for complete information.
Gannett Newsstand offers access to local and regional U.S. newspapers from the publisher Gannett Company. Notable titles include the Detroit Free Press, The Indianapolis Star, and The Tennessean. The newspapers are available in html full text only (PDFs, images, and advertisements are not included). Coverage dates vary from title to title, but generally span from the late 1980s to present.
Gateway to North America: People, Places, and Organizations of 19th-Century New York from the New-York Historical Society, features content from residential and business directories, organization records, urban guidebooks, and other sources rich in names and places that present a history of the people of New York City from the late eighteenth century through the early twentieth century. New York was long the country’s focal point of industry, trade, commerce and immigration, and this collection features materials that track the city's inhabitants over time and place, where they lived, where they worked, and what they did.
Gender: Identity and Social Change includes primary sources documenting the changing representations and lived experiences of gender roles and relations from the nineteenth century to the present. This collection offers sources for the study of women's suffrage, the feminist movement, the men’s movement, employment, education, the body, the family, and government and politics. Material has been sourced from across the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom and Australia. The earliest documents are from the nineteenth century and the latest from the early twenty-first century.
GenderWatch indexes scholarly, radical, community, and independent publications from 1970 to present relevant to gender, women's, and LGBTQ studies. It provides information from both academic and grassroots perspectives on a wide range of gender-related topics, such as sexuality, family, religion, societal roles, race and ethnicity, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, healthcare, and the workplace. Notable titles include Off Our Backs, Transgender Tapestry, Sister Namibia, and Out and About, among others.
General Science Full Text is a interdisciplinary science journal article index that also provides some full text journal articles within the database. Subjects covered include astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, conservation, health & medicine, physics, and zoology.
Counts of the total population from Census 2010 for a variety of geographic areas to be used for the Public Law (P.L.) 94-171 redistricting process. In addition, other data items such as race, ethnicity, voting age and housing unit tallies are included in this data set. Export data as dbf, ASCII, shapefile, or mid/mif files.
This 1970 Census Long Form data contains over 5,000 variables. It has data and mapping capabilities for counties and tracts, and data only for MCDs and places. The country was not fully tracted in 1970; there is no tract data available in untracted areas. Export data as dbf, ASCII, shapefile, or mid/mif files.
CensusCD 1980 in 2000 Boundaries allows users to access US Census data from 1980 and easily compare it with the 2000 Census data by expressing 1980 Census Long Form (STF-3) and Short Form (STF-1) datasets in all of the 2000 Long Form geographies. It includes detailed demographic data about topics such as population, household structure, income, poverty, education level, employment, housing costs, immigration, and other variables. Export data as dbf, ASCII, shapefile, or mid/mif files.
Complete 1990 Census Long Form (STF3) census data, plus a built-in mapping function. Includes about 3500 variables and 11 boundaries such as tracts, block groups, zip codes, MSA and more. Export data as dbf, ASCII, shapefile, or mid/mif files.
Census 2000 Long Form is the most complete source of detailed information about the people, housing, and economy of the United States. This dataset contains variables such as income, housing, employment, language spoken, ancestry, education, poverty, rent, mortgage, commute to work, etc. There are 5,500 variables at the Block Group level and over 10,000 more variables at the larger geographies such as tract, zip code, county and state level. The dataset includes all of the available cross-tabulated variables (income by age, employment by race) released by the US Census Bureau. Export data as dbf, ASCII, shapefile, or mid/mif files.
The Geolytics Neighborhood Change Database (NCDB) gives users access to US Census data from 1970, 1980, 1990, 2000, and 2010 at the census tract level, with the option to access data for all four decades normalized to 2010 tract boundaries. Users can download data as if the 2010 tracts existed, and all the data is weighted to these areas. Variables include population, household, and housing characteristics, income, poverty status, education level, employment, housing costs, immigration, and others. Users can export data in .dbf, ASCII, shapefile, or mid/mif files.
This database is the definitive cross-cultural resource for information on women's history. It spans more than four centuries and 15 languages and includes over two million pages in full image. Users can trace the evolution of feminism within a single country, as well as the impact of that country's feminist movement on other countries and their movements. The Gerritsen Collection also provides immediate access to many primary sources from around the world that were previously available only in a limited number of rare book rooms.
This resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of global commodities in world history. The commodities featured in this resource have been transported, exchanged and consumed around the world for hundreds of years.
Global Financial Data specializes in historical financial data that extends from the 1200s to present. Data includes forecasting models for developed and emerging markets, total returns, U.S. stocks, fixed income, equity and economic data.
Global Health indexes publications from around the world. Provides coverage of the following aspects of human health and disease: communicable diseases, tropical diseases, parasitic diseases, human nutrition, community and public health, medicinal and poisonous plants. Language of publication listed in brackets after the title. Dates of coverage: 1910 to present.
3 concurrent users; please log off after each session.
Harper's Magazine is a news and general interest monthly magazine, featuring news, essays, fiction, and more. The archive includes coverage from the beginning of publication in 1850 to present day issues.
HathiTrust Digital Library is a digital preservation repository and highly functional access platform. It provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives. Bibliographic and full text search are available for all volumes in HathiTrust. Public domain volumes are freely accessible to the public and can be downloaded in their entirety with authentication by persons affiliated with partner institutions. NYU Libraries is a HathiTrust partner institution.
HeinOnline contains the full-text of law review journals and related legal documents, including the Code of Federal Regulations, English Reports (1220-1867), U.S. Presidential Library, U.S. Statutes at Large, and U.S. Supreme Court Library, and World Trials Library, and more.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 provides access to searchable digitized copies of newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries for a Hispanic readership. It features hundreds of monolingual and bilingual newspapers in Spanish and English, including many obscure titles from the 19th century.
The Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) provides bibliographic citations for articles in scholarly journals that regularly cover Latin America (including Brazil), the Caribbean, and U.S. Latinos, with an emphasis on the humanities and social sciences. HAPI indexes journals in English, Spanish, Portuguese, French, German, and Italian, and it provides links when available to full-text sources, many of which are open access.
Search the PDF full text and image archives of more than 100 major U.S. and African American newspapers.
Highlights include: Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945), Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Chicago Tribune (1849-1986), Christian Science Monitor (1908-2004), Los Angeles Times (1881-1995), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002), The Chicago Defender (1910 - 1975), The New York Times (1851-2014), The New York Tribune (1841-1922), The New York Tribune (1900-1910), San Francisco Chronicle (1869-1922), The Wall Street Journal (1889-2000), The Washington Post (1877-2001), St. Petersburg Times / Tampa Bay Times (1901-2009), Korea Times (1956-2016)
Historical Statistics of the United State is a source for downloadable quantitative data that pertains to America's past. Topics of data range from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America. Users can access reports, essays, and extract data into Excel tables.
History of Mass Tourism includes guidebooks and brochures, periodicals, travel agency correspondence, photographs and personal travel journals covering the expansion, accessibility and affordability of tourism for the masses and the evolution of some of the most successful travel agencies in the world.
International bibliography of the history of science, technology and medicine.Search for journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews and dissertations in all scientific disciplines and related fields. Dates of coverage: 1975 to present.
This resource consists of a few collections which can be cross-searched, these collections are: -Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records -Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records and Personal Papers, Part 1 -Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy, 1960-1975 -NAACP Papers: Board of Directors, Annual Conferences, Major Speeches, and National Staff Files -NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Education, Voting, Housing, Employment, Armed Forces -Southern Life and African American History, 1775-1915, Plantations Records, Part 1 -Slavery and the Law -Pinkerton's National Detective Agency Records.
The Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective provides citations from periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, as well as citations of over 240,000 book reviews. Dates of coverage: 1907-1984.
Independent Voices is a four-year project, 2013-2016, to digitize and make widely available through open access over 1 million pages of alternative press material sourced from the special collections of participating libraries.
Index Islamicus is the main index in Middle Eastern and Islamic Studies. It indexes academic literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Records included in the index cover almost 100 years of publications on the world of Islam. Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level. Dates of coverage: 1906 to present.
The Index of Articles on Jewish Studies provides the most comprehensive indexing to the contents of thousands of journals in the various fields of Jewish studies. It also selectively indexes multi-author monographs. Search interface: in Hebrew and English. Citations: in Hebrew, English, and other languages. Dates of coverage: 1966 to the present.
The Index Religiosus is an international reference bibliography for academic publications in Theology, Religious Studies and Church History. It covers publications written in various European languages (English, French, German, Italian, Spanish, Dutch, etc.
As of January 2014, the Index Religiosus replaces the printed versions of the bibliography of the Revue d’histoire ecclésiastique and the Elenchus Bibliographicus.
Index to 19th Century American Art Periodicals indexes the articles, reviews, illustrations, poems and advertisements found in 42 fine art periodicals published in the United States during the 19th century.
Index to Current Urban Documents contains reports generated by local government agencies, civic organizations, academic and research organizations, public libraries, and metropolitan and regional planning agencies from major cities in the United States and Canada. The core of the collection contains fiscal and architecture & planning documents. The Index also provides information for all urban-related issues, from hazardous waste disposal to arts in the community
The Index to Jewish Periodicals provides citations to English-language articles in more than 200 journals, magazines, and newsletters devoted to Jewish affairs. The publications are mainly from the U.S. and a good many are organizational and institutional newsletters. Dates of coverage: 1988 to present.
Index to Yiddish Periodicals provides citations to articles published in the Yiddish press in Eastern Europe (Czarist Russia, Soviet Russia, Ukraine, interwar Poland, Romania before World War II, and the United States.
Coverage: approximately 800 publications. Search interface: in Yiddish. Citations: in Yiddish.
Indian Claims Insight provides researchers with the opportunity to understand and analyze Native American migration and resettlement throughout U.S. history in the context of U.S. Government Indian removal policies and subsequent actions to address Native American claims.
Indigenous Peoples: North America sources collections from across Canadian and American institutions, providing insight into the cultural, political and social history of Native Peoples from the seventeenth into the twentieth century. Including diverse manuscripts; book collections; newspapers from various tribe and Indian-related organizations; materials such as Bibles, dictionaries and primers in Indigenous languages all enable students' examination of important primary source materials.
ICPSR is a social science repository that includes curated data sets pertaining to many disciplines within the social sciences. ICPSR contains original codebooks and descriptions of methodology, offers multiple file format downloads, and links data to relevant scholarly research. Users can search at the variable level and trace datasets to their use in academic publications. The archive also includes data-driven learning guides for those teaching with data.
Users must create a MyData account from an NYU-owned computer and log on to it at least once every six months to download data. If you are only available to create an account remotely, you can do so by contacting ICPSRemail@example.com via your nyu.edu email and they will set up the account. If you need help accessing your ICPSR account, contact Katie Wissel.
International Bibliography of Art (IBA) includes indexing for "core" and specialized art and architecture journals. IBA includes many citations to articles in Non-English (primarily European) language journals. IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA).
The International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) covers a broad range of interdisciplinary social sciences literature in over 100 languages and countries, with a focus on international research. It provides bibliographic references to journal articles and select books, book chapters, and book reviews dating back to 1951.
The International Coalition on Newspapers (ICON) is a project to preserve and improve access to world newspapers. It includes a freely accessible database of bibliographic information for more newspapers around the world. It also includes lists of digitized U.S. and international newspaper titles, many of which are freely accessible online.
Collections in the International Relations and Military Conflicts category span from 1911-1975, offering a detailed view of U.S. foreign relations during the period from the years immediately before the outbreak of World War I through to the end of the Vietnam War. While these modules provide an excellent view of U.S. international relations during these important years, these records also offer detailed information on the countries in which the U.S. diplomatic or military officials were stationed. As such, the collections in the International Relations and Military Conflicts category are an excellent source for studies of individual countries or regions of the world. In addition, U.S. diplomats and military officials often reported back on international reaction to events in the United States, thereby providing an international perspective on important developments in the United States.
J. Walter Thompson: Advertising America is an archive of the history, operation, policies and accomplishments of the J. Walter Thompson advertising firm. Coverage dates run from the late 19th century to the 1990s. Collections include: print advertisements, publications, account files for nine key clients, staff newsletters, business records, and other internal company documents. A wide range of brands, companies, and industries are covered from automobiles to cosmetics and cruises.
The Jazz Discography, edited by Tom Lord and drawing on a wealth of previous discographic scholarship, is a detailed and systematic source of information about jazz records and recording sessions from 1898 to 1992 and beyond.
Enables you to explore the history of Jewish communities in America from the arrival of the first Jews in the 17th century right through to the mid-20th century. This collection offers a glimpse into the communal and social aspects of Jewish identity and culture, whilst tracing Jewish involvement in the political life of American society with digital images of collections from the American Jewish Historical Society in New York.
Keesing’s World News Archive is an archive of notable international events. The archive started in 1931-87 as Keesing’s Contemporary Archives, which was published in print, and continued as Keesing’s Record of World Events from 1987 to the present.
The L2 Political Academic Voter File is a person-level dataset that represents the entire population of the United States that is registered to vote. L2 Political aggregates data from each of the states' public voter roles and supplements each record with modeled demographic variables, such as party affiliation, income, and many others. NYU licenses access to a map-based data extraction tool (VoterMapping) and also provides access to the underlying data files via NYU Research Workspace. The data file is updated on a continuous basis.
The Latino American Experience is a digital resource focusing on the history and culture of Latinos in the United States. Its chronological coverage spans the pre-Columbian indigenous civilizations of the Americas, the Spanish colonial period and the nineteenth century, up to the present day. Content includes articles and essays, reference materials, excerpts from primary sources, and a tool for simple analyses of statistical data.
Latino Literature is a searchable collection of poetry, fiction, and drama written in English and Spanish by Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latino writers working in the United States, including previously unpublished titles. The database also includes a collection of ephemera (playbills, brochures, photographs, postcards, etc.) and artwork.
Law Library Microform Consortium (LLMC) is a non-profit cooperative of libraries dedicated to preserving legal titles and government documents while making copies available digitally through its on-line service LLMC-Digital. Users can access scanned copies of newsletters and legal documents.
Search the diverse literature of the Left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Other topics covered include the labor movement, ecology and environment, race and ethnicity, social and cultural theory, sociology, art and aesthetics, philosophy, history, education, law and globalization. Historically significant early Left publications such as The People (est. NY 1891) and The Class Struggle (1931-1937) along with classic texts by Marx, Lenin, Trotsky, Engels, and others, written in the formative years of the Left are also covered. Dates of coverage: 1984 to present.
Legal Source provides access to an extensive range of full-text legal content. It offers information centered on the discipline of law and legal topics, such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical law, labor and human resource law, ethics, and the environment. Legal Source includes the Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective and the Index to Legal Periodicals & Books.
Legislative Insight contains access to all of the various publications that become available as as a bill moves through the legislative process on its way to becoming a law. These include the full text of the Public Law itself, all versions of related bills, law-specific Congressional Record excerpts, committee hearings, reports, and prints. Legislative Insight offers a research citation page that not only links to the full text of the associated primary source publications, but also allows the user to search within these documents.
LGBT Life with Full Text provides access to core literature related to lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender issues. It covers scholarly, popular, and regional resources, with publication types including journals, magazines, books, reference works, and more. It includes deep backfiles for key publications, many back to the first published issue. Examples of publications indexed back to their inaugural issues include The Advocate (1967), Journal of Homosexuality (1974) and Harvard Gay and Lesbian Review (1994).
Archival runs of influential, long-running serial publications covering LGBT interests. Chronicles more than six decades of the history and culture of the LGBT community. Some publications may contain explicit content.
LGBT Studies in Video is a collection of documentaries, filmed performances, interviews, archival footage, animation, and select feature films pertaining to the the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people and to the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community.
LGBT Thought and Culture is an online resource hosting books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social, and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day. The collection includes materials ranging from texts, letters, speeches, interviews, and ephemera covering the political evolution of gay rights as well as memoirs, biographies, poetry, and works of fiction that illuminate the lives of lesbians, gays, transgender, and bisexual individuals and the community. These materials represent selections from The National Archives in Kew, materials collected by activist and publisher Tracy Baim from the mid-1980s through the mid-2000s, the Magnus Hirschfeld and Harry Benjamin collections from the Kinsey Institute, periodicals such as En la Vida and BLACKlines, select rare works from notable LGBT publishers including Alyson Books and Cleis Press, as well as mainstream trade and university publishers.
Liberty flourished when illustrated magazines were the most important form of mass entertainment. This was an era of unique creativity and growing involvement in world affairs. Middle class America became much more interested in world events and their impact on everyday life in America. This digital collection provides a unique opportunity to view Liberty and how it charted the moods, attitudes, lifestyles, fads, and fortunes of middle class America through its three most significant decades.
Literature Criticism Online includes the contents of several multidisciplinary series, including Contemporary Literary Criticism and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism. The collection includes biographical essays and selected literary criticism for authors from the classical period to the present day.
Literature Online includes full text of literary works in English from the Middle Ages to the twentieth century. It also includes the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature, together with biographic and bibliographic reference materials for each author.
A fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose. LION is the single most extensive and wide-ranging online collection of English and American literature.Resources included in this resource are: Bibliographies Biographies Columbia Companion to the 20th Century American Short Story Columbia Dictionary of Modern European Literature Columbia Dictionary of Modern Literary and Cultural Criticism Concise Oxford Companion to English Literature Concise Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms Encyclopedia of African Literature Encyclopedia of American Poetry: The Nineteenth Century Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003 Encyclopedia of Linguistics (2 vols.) Encyclopedia of the Novel Handbook of African American Literature New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics Oxford Companion to Irish Literature Penguin Classics Introductions Routledge Encyclopedia of Narrative Theory Routledge Encyclopedia of Post-Colonial Literatures in English (2nd Edition)
Literature Resource Center offers biographical and other background information for research on literary topics, authors, and their works. Its coverage includes all genres and disciplines, all time periods, and all regions of the world. Literature Resource Center's content comes from the Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and more, including full text of selected poems, plays, and short stories.