Research Guides: Journalism: Finding People and Experts

People search

Family Tree Now
A free directory for finding contact information (including cell phone numbers) for living persons. Names, ages, addresses, associated persons and other information has not been verified and should only be used as a lead or starting point.

Expert File
An online database of experts in different subject areas that is also used by the Associated Press. It is free to search or contact an expert.
ProfNet
Designed with journalists in mind, you can search this network of 25,000 experts
Working Sources database
Working Sources is a free directory of experts, career professionals, and other sources who are available to the press. It is funded by the non-profit Economic Hardship Reporting Project, and the current categories center around Care, Disability, Drugs, Economics, Labor, and Military. Contact information for each source includes email addresses and social media profiles when available.

Leadership Connect This link opens in a new window
(Note: on-campus or VPN access only) Leadership Library includes names and contact information on individuals from government, business, media, and nonprofit organizations.

Subject-Specific Article Databases
Search a subject-specific database to find out which academics are writing about your topic. Subject-specific databases such as PsycINFO are very scholarly in nature and contain articles by academic experts in a field.

Identifying organizations is a great way to find interview contacts.

GuideStar: the National Database of Nonprofit Organizations This link opens in a new window
Candid's GuideStar provides data on IRS-recognized nonprofit organizations in the U.S. Users can search nonprofits according to their operating budgets, size, location, and National Taxonomy of Exempt Entities (NTEE). Highlight include a financial trends analysis snapshot for each organization and downloadable form 990s.
To access the premium section of Guidestar, you must register and create an account. Once registered, NYU users are permitted to download 1000 records per month.
Foundation Directory Online This link opens in a new window
Foundation Directory Online is a database of over 100,000 public and private foundations, corporate giving programs, and grantmaking public charities in the U.S. It provides comprehensive information on grant-makers and their grants. Includes Candid's "Foundation Grants to Individuals Online".

NYC Green Book
The free, online version of the city's official directory. Includes listings for city, state, and federal agencies and courts, as well as a listing of national and international agencies and contacts.
Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations
Searchable database of organizations that contains contact info for U.S. organizations.

Yearbook of International Organizations Online This link opens in a new window
The Yearbook of International Organizations Online produced by the Union of International Organizations (UIA) includes information on international organizations, biographies of principal officers, and summary statistics on international organizations.

Europa World Plus
Once you are in Europa, click on "Organizations" in the top toolbar. You can filter results by country or search by keyword.
NGO Database
The NGO Branch of the United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs (UNDESA) administers the database of NGOs in Consultative Status with ECOSOC.