Irish Studies: Literature, Film and Theatre

This is a comprehensive guide to almost 300 years of Irish literary magazines, an important, but neglected, resource for those interested in Irish literature and literary, social, cultural and economic history. The book begins by outlining the history of these magazines, their development, personalities and major themes and formats. A descriptive bibliography then assesses the contents and importance of well over 200 magazines.

Reflecting the diversity of Ireland's literary heritage from the bardic poets and Celtic sagas to twentieth-century authors like Brian Friel, Edna O'Brien, and Nuala NiDhomhnaill, the more than 2,000 unsigned entries cover writers, titles of major works, literary genres and motifs, folklore, mythology, periodicals, associations, and historical figures and events. This excellent guide to the literature of the Emerald Isle also serves as an introduction to the rich history and culture of a land whose physical beauty masks the scars of its turbulent past.

This is the first reference work to provide the general reader, as well as the specialist, with direct and easy access to the English language as it has been used in Irish literature. Quotations from writers ranging from AE to Zozimus, including Nobel laureates Yeats, Shaw, Beckett, and Heaney, are used to illustrate vocabulary and idioms. From archaeology ("crannog") to zoology ("graunogue"), almost every aspect of Ireland and Irish life over the past 400 years is reflected in this volume.

Offers concise and current information on Irish literature in three categories: significant writers, from the 7th century to contemporary poets and novelists; major literary works of quality and influence; and places and institutions that have helped shape Irleand's literary heritage.

Irish Literature: The Eighteenth Century illustrates not only the impressive achievement of the great writers - Swift, Berkeley, Burke, Goldsmith and Sheridan - but also shows the varied accomplishment of others, providing unexpected, entertaining examples from the pens of the less well known.

Taking in prose, poetry, and drama, this volume not only contains work by major authors but also includes less obvious material gleaned from sources such as letters, diaries, court reports, newspapers, and journals.

Irish Fiction includes: A broad definition of the genre and its essential elements. A timeline of developments within the genre. Critical concerns to bear in mind while reading in the genre. Detailed readings of a range of widely taught texts. In-depth analysis of major themes and issues. Signposts for further study within the genre. A summary of the most important criticism in the field. A glossary of terms. An annotated, critical reading list.

Included in this reference book are alphabetically arranged entries for more than 70 modern Irish writers, including Samuel Beckett, William Trevor, Patrick Kavanagh, Medbh McGuckian, Sean O'Casey, J. M. Synge, and Nuala Ni Dhomhnaill. Entries are written by expert contributors and reflect a broad range of perspectives. Each entry contains a brief biography that summarizes the author's career, a discussion of major works and themes, an overview of the author's critical reception, and a bibliography of primary and secondary works. An introductory essay reviews the large and growing body of scholarship on modern Irish literature, while an extensive bibliography concludes the volume.

Since its launch in 1970, the Irish University Review has sought to foster and publish the best scholarly research and critical debate in Irish literary and cultural studies. Today, the journal publishes the best literary and cultural criticism by established and emerging scholars in Irish Studies. It is supported by an international editorial board and editorial advisory board, and draws its authors, subscribers and readers from all around the world.

An interdisciplinary scholarly journal of international repute, Éire Ireland is the leading forum in the flourishing field of Irish Studies. Since 1966, Éire-Ireland has published a wide range of imaginative work and scholarly articles from all areas of the arts, humanities, and social sciences relating to Ireland and Irish America.

The Irish Literary Supplement is a twice-yearly review of Irish books. It has been published since 1982 and is sponsored by the Irish Studies Program of Boston College. Edited and published by Robert G. Lowery, the ILS features about 50 reviews of Irish books in each issue and includes frequent interviews with leading Irish literature and cultural figures.

Irish Studies Review is an indispensable resource for all those engaged in Irish studies and related disciplines. Founded in 1992, it has become an important forum for the scholarly development of knowledge, understanding and appreciation of Irish studies and culture throughout the world. It serves a wide range of disciplinary communities, including history and archaeology; literary, cultural, gender and media studies; politics and economics; and music and the arts.

Recollecting Hunger brings together selections from Irish Famine novels, as well as stories from the Famine until Independence. Fully annotated and placed in their historical context, these writings make visible the ways in which literary texts remember the Famine. Many of these texts - some known, more unknown - are not only interesting from a scholarly point of view, but are in fact engrossing and well-written, and will also appeal to general readers with an interest in the hidden treasures of Irish literary history.

This book is about the role that the imperfect, the disquieting and the dystopian are currently playing in the construction of Irish identities. All the essays assess identity issues that require urgent examination, problematize canonical definitions of Irishness and, above all, look at the ways in which the artistic output of the country has been altered by the Celtic Tiger phenomenon and its subsequent demise.

Claire Connolly offers a cultural history of the Irish novel in the period between the radical decade of the 1790s and the gaining of Catholic Emancipation in 1829. These decades saw the emergence of a group of talented Irish writers who developed and advanced such innovative forms as the national tale and the historical novel: fictions that took Ireland as their topic and setting and which often imagined its history via domestic plots that addressed wider issues of dispossession and inheritance.

From our homes to our houses of government, from our schoolyards to our stadia, from our galleries to our gable walls, folklore is not only preserved but continues to be reimagined in all aspects of everyday life in Ireland. In the twenty-first century, the traditions of Irish folklore are engaged in a constant process of regeneration, where the old and the new, the oral, the textual and the visual intermingle.

With the Celtic Tiger well and truly dead, it’s time for the post-mortem to begin, and this book represents a significant contribution to that process. Irish Literature in the Celtic Tiger Years challenges the theoretical parameters of contemporary Irish cultural criticism, while also providing a compelling vision of the vicissitudes of modern Irish identity.

After a decade in which women writers have gradually been given more recognition in the study of Irish literature, this collection proposes a reappraisal of Irish women's writing by inviting dialogues with new or hitherto marginalised critical frameworks as well as with foreign and transnational literary traditions.

Literary visions of multicultural Ireland is the first full-length monograph in the market to address the impact that Celtic-Tiger immigration has exerted on the poetry, drama and fiction of contemporary Irish writers. The book opens with a lively, challenging preface by Prof. Declan Kiberd and is followed by eighteen essays by leading and prestigious scholars in the field of Irish studies from both sides of the Atlantic who address, in pioneering, differing and enriching ways, the emerging multiethnic character of Irish literature.