Skip to main content

NYU Libraries logo

Myths, Fairy Tales and Folklore: Finding Articles via databases

A guide for students and researchers interested in the study of Mythology, Fairy Tales and Folklore.

Database Search Tips

Here are tips for better search results in databases. This usage works on most databases, but check 'Help' sections for supported search syntax. 

Boolean: (using operators: and, or, not) 

fairy tale and cinderella searches for occurrences of both words within scope defined.

snow white or sleeping beauty searches for one or all, but both are not required.

snow white not disney searches for occurrences of the words ‘snow white’ without use of the word ‘disney.’

(snow white not disney) and sleeping beauty searches for occurrences of the words ‘snow white’ without use of the word ‘disney,’ then also requires the words ‘sleeping beauty.’


Truncation: 

art* searches for art, arts, artistic, artful, etc.


Wildcard: 

m?n searches for man and men. 

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a time-saving, scholarly search interface accessible from within the Google interface. With Google Scholar, you can access peer-reviewed journal articles, books and book sections. For literature searching, specialized databases have more functionality and access more comprehensive results, but Google Scholar is a good tool

Google Scholar Search

Search other catalogs

Need to find something we don't have here at Bobst?  Need to research editions of a specific work?  Worldcat to the rescue!  Worldcat allows you to search for material beyond what we have available here at Bobst. 

Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>

Recommended Databases

General databases contain content from a wide variety of subject areas and publication types.  They will allow you to look at your topic from a wide and varied perspective.

Be sure to use the many search refinements each database has to offer, including: date, document type, and source type.

Unlike the general databases, literature (or any subject) specific databases generally focus solely on journal articles as a publication type and do not have a broad, multidisciplinary approach.

In addition to looking at Mythology and FairyTales from a literary perspective, it is helpful to broaden your research and venture into other disciplines.  Here is a brief list of databases that may enhance your research:

Loading ...

Tips for Searching the MLA Bibliography

Tips for searching Folklore via the MLA Bibliography

This video gives tips for searching folklore topics via the MLA Bibliography through EBSCO.  NYU has a subscription to the MLA Bibliography via ProQuest, but many of the tips outlined in the video still apply although the interface is different.