Newsbank searches a collection of databases from the information vendor Newsbank, including the Archive of Americana, World News Archive, Foreign Broadcast Information Service Reports, and Access World News. These collections include: Early American Newspapers, Series XV, 1822-1879: Immigrant Communities; American Underworld: The Flash Press; African American Newspapers, Series 1, African American Newspapers, Series 2, Ethnic American Newspapers (Balch), 1799-1971; Joint Publications Research Service Reports (JPRS), 1957-1995; Sowetan Collection; Financial Mail Collection, Sunday Times Collection; Business Day Collection
Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, multi-lingual (English, Spanish, French, German, and more) database of newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority, and native presses. Full-text content ranges from the 1940s to present day.
Search the PDF full text and image archives of more than 100 major U.S. and African American newspapers.
Highlights include: Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945), Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Chicago Tribune (1849-1986), Christian Science Monitor (1908-2004), Los Angeles Times (1881-1995), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002), The Chicago Defender (1910 - 1975), The New York Times (1851-2014), The New York Tribune (1841-1922), The New York Tribune (1900-1910), San Francisco Chronicle (1869-1922), The Wall Street Journal (1889-2000), The Washington Post (1877-2001), St. Petersburg Times / Tampa Bay Times (1901-2009), Korea Times (1956-2016)
Alternative Press Index (API) is a database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. Coverage dates begin in 1991, for earlier content use the Alternative Press Index Archive database.
Alternative Press Index Archive (APIA) contains journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from international alternative, radical, and left periodicals from 1969-1990. For more recent content see the database Alternative Press Index.
Associated Press Collections Online is a database of primary source historical newswires from the Associated Press. Content includes images and original PDFs from the Middle East Bureaus (1967-2005, in English and Arabic), U.S. City Bureaus (post WWII), and Washington D.C. Bureaus (1938-2009), as well as the AP Internal Communications module (personal papers of AP staff members, consisting of wire copy, correspondence, journals, reporters' notebooks, and other materials).
View the front page of over 2,000 newspapers daily. Archives are available for days of special interest going back to 2003. Some recent examples include: June 19, 2015 (Charleston church shooting); June 7, 2015 (American Pharaoh wins Triple Crown); and Dec. 18, 2014 (U.S. and Cuba re-establish diplomatic relations).
LGBT Life with Full Text provides access to core literature related to lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender issues. It covers scholarly, popular, and regional resources, with publication types including journals, magazines, books, reference works, and more. It includes deep backfiles for key publications, many back to the first published issue. Examples of publications indexed back to their inaugural issues include The Advocate (1967), Journal of Homosexuality (1974) and Harvard Gay and Lesbian Review (1994).
GenderWatch indexes scholarly, radical, community, and independent publications from 1970 to present relevant to gender, women's, and LGBTQ studies. It provides information from both academic and grassroots perspectives on a wide range of gender-related topics, such as sexuality, family, religion, societal roles, race and ethnicity, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, healthcare, and the workplace. Notable titles include Off Our Backs, Transgender Tapestry, Sister Namibia, and Out and About, among others.
Widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. In addition to medical papers and other resources for health professionals, PubMed is also a great source for studying medical sociology and the sociology of health and illness.
PAIS International contains journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies for public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations.
Harvard Law School publishes several open-access, peer-reviewed journals relevant to human rights, including Human Rights Journal and Civil Rights-Civil Liberties Law Review. Visit their website to see a complete list and access the journals.