SCOLA provides access to television and radio broadcasts in their original languages from more than fifty different countries with accompanying English-language transcripts. Content includes current international news, variety programs, a Chinese teaching channel (educational and cultural programming from the People's Republic of China), and programs from emerging nations.
African American Communities explores multiple aspects of the African American community through pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, visual images, and oral histories.The collection focuses predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina.
Alexander Street Press Central Search allows users to search all of the content available through Alexander Street Press collections. The collections include a range of video collections, archival items, ebooks, and reference resources.
Docuseek2 is a collection of 1800 documentary films from the catalogues of Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films (including The Fanlight Collection and dGenerate Films), Kartemquin Films, KimStim, the National Film Board of Canada, and Terra Nova Films.
The Hemispheric Institute Digital Video Library, a collaboration between New York University Libraries and NYU's Hemispheric Institute of Performance and Politics, provides a venue for documenting the expression of social and political life through performance in the many cultures and political landscapes of the Americas.
Latin America in Video offers 400 documentaries from producers and filmmakers in Latin America, on subjects pertaining to a wide range of disciplines including cultural studies, sociology, anthropology, history, music, and religion.
The Visual History Archive, an online portal from the USC Shoah Foundation, includes over 54,000 audiovisual testimonies of survivors and witnesses of genocides. The testimonies were conducted in 62 countries and in 41 languages. The VHA includes testimonies covering the:
European Holocaust, 1939-1945;
Armenian Genocide, 1915-1923;
Cambodian Genocide, 1975-1979;
Genocide against the Tutsi in Rwanda, 1994; and
Nanjing Massacre, 1937-1938.
Please see our guide if you are a member of the public interested in using the VHA: https://guides.nyu.edu/vha
World History in Video is a wide-ranging collection of critically acclaimed documentaries allowing researchers to explore human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century. The video content covers Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania.
NYU's subscription provides the full text of several periodicals (and a few publically available books). It is particularly strong on African American and abolitionist newspapers, the history of the United States before Reconstruction, and the campaign for women's suffrage in the United States.
The Alexander Street Press platform hosts many individual digital archives, including, but not limited to: Border and Migration Studies Online; Disability in the Modern World; Human Rights Studies Online; Women and Social Movements, International; and
Women and Social Movements, Modern Empires Since 1820.
The BrillOnline Primary Sources platform hosts several digital archives, including, but not limited to: Chinese Film and Newsreel Scripts from the Cultural Revolution Online; French Revolutionary Opinions Online; and Russian Anarchist Periodicals of the Early 20th Century Online.
Electronic Enlightenment is a wide-ranging, online collection of edited correspondence from the early modern period, linking people across Europe, the Americas, and Asia. The database provides immediate access to 70,057 historical documents, covering everything from religious tolerance to animal rights, vulcanology to classical archeology, economic modelling to celebrity culture.
This resource consists of a few collections which can be cross-searched, these collections are: -Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records -Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records and Personal Papers, Part 1 -Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy, 1960-1975 -NAACP Papers: Board of Directors, Annual Conferences, Major Speeches, and National Staff Files -NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Education, Voting, Housing, Employment, Armed Forces -Southern Life and African American History, 1775-1915, Plantations Records, Part 1 -Slavery and the Law -Pinkerton's National Detective Agency Records, Temperance & Prohibition Movement.
Women's Issues and Identities is a digital archive that presents primary source materials covering the social, political, and professional aspects of women's lives, focusing on the roles, experiences, and achievements of women in society. It is global in scope and offers coverage of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. It includes, for example, records of the Planned Parenthood Federation of America, Committee of Fifteen, Women's Labour League, Women's Trade Union League, and other grassroots feminist organizations, among other materials.
The finding aid brings together the results of a five year project by staff at Kew and enables researchers to quickly locate details of any document relating to women in the National Archives at Kew. It is far more detailed and extensive than anything available elsewhere on the web and has the benefit of ranging across all of the classes of material held at the National Archives. The original documents focus on the campaign for women's suffrage in Britain, 1903-1928, and the granting of women's suffrage in colonial territories, 1930-1962. Prominent suffragettes include Emmeline Pethick-Lawrence, the Pankhursts, Emily Wilding Davison, Clara Giveen and Rachel Peace (alias Jane Short).
Columbia's Butler Library houses the records of various human rights NGOs, including Amnesty International USA, Human Rights Watch, Helsinki Watch, Physicians for Human Rights, Human Rights First, and Concerned Scientists.
The Dodd Center collects: the records of human rights organizations based in the US; the papers of American participants in international tribunals; human rights photojournalism collections, including photography and the personal papers of human rights photographers and photojournalists; materials which document economic rights issues; personal papers of refugees in Connecticut and New England; and the books of human rights activist-artists, particularly artists' responses to terrorism, war, and genocide.
Documents and images related to Southern African countries, including periodicals, newspapers, records of colonial government commissions, correspondence, UN documents, out-of-print books, oral testimonies, life histories, and speeches.
The Meiklejohn Institute at the University of California - Berkeley has published guides on civil liberties and human rights, as well as Human Rights Docket, Human Rights and Peace Law Docket, and Human Rights Casefinder, 1953-1969. The archive houses materials documenting the anti-Vietnam war movements, the Free Speech Movement trial, the mass arrests in Peoples Park, as well as materials from the trials of Angela Y. Davis, the Pentagon Papers, and Wounded Knee.
OSA holdings related to human rights issues comprise a variety of documents created by non-governmental and supra-governmental organizations active in post World War Central and Eastern Europe. Most important among these are those of the International Helsinki Federation, the Human Rights Law Institute related to the conflicts in former Yugoslavia, Index on Censorship, and the Physicians for Human Rights.
ArchiveGrid is a listing of archival collections across the world. Users can search nearly a million collection descriptions from thousands of libraries, museums, and archives. Researchers searching ArchiveGrid can learn about the many items in each of these collections, contact archives to arrange a visit to examine materials, and order copies.