Skip to main content

International Relations

Search BobCat

Bobcat search box image

First, search NYU Libraries' online catalog (BobCat) for books, audiovisual materials, journals, data resources, special collection materials, and more.

For the books that you can not find in Bobcat, Please search WorldCat to discover which libraries nearby have the book you need - including public libraries and NYU-partner institutions. Once you know that information, you can request the books by the following:

E-ZBorrow: fastest way to get books from our partners libraries which we do not have in our Libraries.ILL (Inter Library Loan): Use ILL to request hard to find material or if you want scans of book chapters or articles instead of a physical book. Takes a bit longer than E-ZBorrow for book requests.

Finding E-Books

Bobcat search

BobCat brings you ebook holding information as well as physical books.

Ebook Central

Is one of our largest e-book databases. Search for full text books in a variety of areas. Create a free account in order to download chapters or borrow entire books to read online or on a device (computer, tablet, phone).

Search Ebook Central

This link of Ebook Collections contains a list of several databases that contains ebooks in various subjects.

EBooks Beyond Bobst

If we don't have something you need or our copy is checked out, you can use these tools to acquire a copy.

Dissertations

Dissertation bibliographies can be very helpful for discovering core literature on a subject. Dissertations themselves are not books

Browsing the shelves

Rediscover one of the best technologies that was ever invented! The book!

Academic libraries that use the Library of Congress Classification Outline (the majority of them) can easily be browsed for serendipitous discovery of wonderful books in your subject area. All you need to know is the call number range to get yourself situated.

Library of Congress Call Number Areas:

  • Political Science: J1-JZ6530
    • International Relations: JZ1-JZ6530
  • Environmental Policy: GE170-GE190
  • Economic Theory: HB1-HC1085
  • International Law: JZ and KZ
  • Law in general, comparative law: K1-K7720
  • Public Aspects of Medicine (Public Health): RA1-RA1270

Keep in mind, many of NYU's books are housed in off-site storage facilities or are online only. You won't find EVERY useful book on your topic by browsing, but it can be a great way to discover something useful that didn't come up in your catalog search.

Call Numbers

Bobst Library maintains an up to date list of call number locations.