Research Guides: Global Studies: General Library Information

Search BobCat for Books and Articles

Search here for books, articles, journals and other print materials, videos, sound recordings, e-books, e-journals, databases, and indexes in our local libraries and special collections.

New to NYU Libraries?

Link to a basic guide to NYU Libraries' services for new students.

Call Numbers

Bobst Library maintains an up to date list of call number locations.

Journal Articles and Databases

NYU Libraries subscribes to over 96,000 e-journals and more than 1,000 databases, such as Lexis-Nexis, PsycInfo, etc.

Use of these licensed materials is restricted to NYU students and faculty.
When you are away from NYU-NYC and try to connect to a database or electronic journal, you will see an automatically generated log-in screen requesting your NYU NetID and password.
Your NetID is on the back of your NYUCard, e.g., csf249. Use the same password you use for NYUHome.
This Proxy method works for NYU Libraries' databases and any e-journals or e-texts that you connect to via the following links on NYU Libraries' website:

Find articles via databases

Find e-journals by title

Seven Ways to Find Books & Articles

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
NYU Libraries' largest collection of online books. Titles are very current and span all disciplines. By signing in, you can create a personal bookshelf, take notes, highlight text, etc.

NYU Libraries main website can be overwhelming! Here are some suggested resources to help get you started with your research.

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Great for beginning researchers, this is a good general source for newspaper, magazine and journal articles on a wide range of topics.

Articles & Databases
NYU Libraries' subscription databases organized by subject and content-type. Use the "General Search" option if you're not sure which subject to choose.
Quick facts and background information
Dictionaries, encyclopedias, biographies, writing guides, almanacs, statistics, and other online reference tools. The "Dictionaries" category includes the Oxford English Dictionary and many foreign language dictionaries.
E-Journals
If you have an article citation and want to locate the full-text, search for the JOURNAL TITLE first, then navigate to the year, issue and pages for the article you need. You can also browse and search across all available issues of individual journals.
Google Scholar
Customize Google Scholar in order to automatically link to content owned by NYU Libraries. Use "Scholar Preferences" and enter "New York University Libraries - Get at NYU" in the Find Libraries search box; be sure to save your preferences.

Chat with a Librarian

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Bobst Info

Virtual Reference Collections

Cambridge Companions Online This link opens in a new window
Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics, Philosophy, Religion, and Culture series.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
OED, bilingual dictionaries, subject encyclopedias, quotations, maps, timelines and more
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopaedias, quotations and atlases and more.
Encyclopedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
Search authoritative entries on a number of topics.

Search Credo Reference

Online collection of dictionaries, encyclopedias, biographical sources, quotations, bilingual dictionaries, and measurement conversions covering topics from the arts to the sciences.