Art History by
For two-semester courses in Art History, Global Art History, and for Introductory Art courses taught from a historical perspective. ART HISTORY provides students with the most student-friendly, contextual, and inclusive art history survey text on the market. These hallmarks make ART HISTORY the choice for instructors who seek to actively engage their students in the study of art. This new edition of ART HISTORY is the result of a happy and productive collaboration between two scholar-teachers (Marilyn Stokstad and Michael Cothren) who share a common vision that survey courses on the history of art should be filled with as much enjoyment as erudition, and that they should foster an enthusiastic, as well as an educated, public for the visual arts. Like its predecessors, this new edition seeks to balance formal and iconographic analysis with contextual art history in order to craft interpretations that will engage a diverse student population. Throughout the text, the visual arts are treated as part of a larger world, in which geography, politics, religion, economics, philosophy, social life, and the other fine arts are related components of a vibrant and cultural landscape. Please visit www.pearsonhighered.com/stokstad4e more information and to view a video from author, Marilyn Stokstad, to see a chapter from the book and an online demo of the Prentice Hall Digital Art Library.
Art by
The most student-friendly, contextual, and inclusive art history survey text on the market. For single term courses in Art History or Art Appreciation taught from a historical perspective with coverage of non-Western material. Art: A Brief History provides a combination of formal analysis and contextual art history designed to engage a diverse student population. Co-authors Marilyn Stokstad and Michael Cothren-both scholars as well as teachers-share a common vision that survey courses should be filled with as much enjoyment as erudition and should foster an enthusiastic, as well as an educated, public for the visual arts. The new Fifth Edition includes links to online resources in MyArtsLab to further engage students and enrich their learning experience. Teaching and Learning Experience Personalize Learning- The new MyArtsLab delivers proven results in helping students succeed, provides engaging experiences that personalize learning, and comes from a trusted partner with educational expertise and a deep commitment to helping students and instructors achieve their goals. Improve Critical Thinking- The new Learn About It and Think About It features prompts students to think critically and analyze the chapter material. Engage Students- Updated scholarship, MyArtsLab, and the readability of the text provide a wonderful engaging student experience. Explore Research- The authors constantly strive to deliver the latest research in the field of Art History, and the utilization of the Closer Look integrates this research with specific images and works of art. Support Instructors- Supported by the best instructor resources on the market, including MyArtsLab, ClassPrep for digital images, and Teaching with MyArtsLab PowerPoints make Art: A Brief History an attractive choice for instructors. Note: MyArtsLab does not come automatically packaged with this text. To purchase MyArtsLab, please visit: www.MyArtsLab.com or you can purchase a valuepack of the text + MyArtsLab (at no additional cost): VP ISBN-10: 0205237339/ VP ISBN-13: 9780205237333
The Arts of China by
For the fifth edition of his internationally renowned The Arts of China, Michael Sullivan has thoroughly revised and expanded every chapter of this classic history of Chinese art from the Neolithic period to the present day. This new edition reflects the latest archaeological discoveries, pays greater attention to the art of calligraphy, provides more information on Chan (Zen) art, and takes a close look at contemporary art. New images have been added to almost every chapter: the work now features more than four hundred photographs, maps, and illustrations, with more than two-thirds of them in full color. Written in the engaging and lucid style that is Sullivan's hallmark, The Arts of China is readily accessible to general readers as well as serious students of art history. Sullivan's approach remains true to the way the Chinese themselves view art, providing readers with a sense of the sweep of history through China's dynasties. This organizational strategy makes it easy for readers to understand the distinct characteristics of each period of art and to gain a clearer view of how Chinese art has changed in relation to its historical context. With many improvements that bring it fully up to date, The Arts of China will remain the most comprehensive and widely read introduction to the history of Chinese art.
The Art of Modern China by
In the early twenty-first century, China occupies a place on center stage in the international art world. But what does it mean to be a Chinese artist in the modern age? This first comprehensive study of modern Chinese art history traces its evolution chronologically and thematically from the Age of Imperialism to the present day. Julia Andrews and Kuiyi Shen pay particular attention to the dynamic tension between modernity and tradition, as well as the interplay of global cosmopolitanism and cultural nationalism. This lively, accessible, and beautifully illustrated text will serve and enlighten scholars, students, collectors, and anyone with an interest in Asian art and artists.
Art and Artists of Twentieth-Century China by
This visually stunning book focuses on the rebirth of Chinese art in the twentieth century under the influence of Western art and culture. Michael Sullivan, recognized throughout the world as a leading scholar of Chinese art, vividly documents the conflicting pulls of traditional and Western values on Chinese art and provides 364 illustrations, in color and black-and-white, to show the great range of artistic expression and the historical processes that occurred within various movements. A substantial biographical index of twentieth-century Chinese artists is a valuable addition to the text. Sullivan discusses artists and their work against China's background of oppression and relaxation, despair and hope. He expertly conveys the diverse and at times bizarre intertwining of Chinese cultural history and art during this century. Included are the intense debates between traditionalists and reformers, the creation of the first art schools, and the birth of the idea--shocking in ethnocentric China--that art is a world language that obliterates all frontiers. The scholarly traditions of classical Chinese painting, the belated discovery of Western modernism, the artistic upheaval under Communism, and China's rethinking of the very nature of art all have a place in Sullivan's fascinating history. Michael Sullivan has known many of the major figures in China's modern art movement of the 1930s and 1940s and has also gained the confidence of younger artists who rose to prominence following the 1979 "Peking Spring." This long-awaited book--richly documented and abundantly illustrated--is a capstone to Sullivan's work and will be enthusiastically welcomed by art lovers everywhere.
Three Thousand Years of Chinese Painting by
From Neolithic painted petroglyphs, early paintings on silk, and landscapes by twelfth-century literati to the traditional handscrolls being produced today, Chinese painting has always had the power to enthrall. This magnificent book, written by a team of eminent international scholars, is the first to recount the history of Chinese painting over a span of some three thousand years. Drawing on museum collections, archives, and archaeological sites in China--including many resources never before available to Western scholars--as well as on collections in other countries, the authors present and analyze the very best examples of Chinese painting: more than 300 of them are reproduced here in color. Both accessible to the general reader and revelatory for the scholar, the book provides the most up-to-date and detailed history of China's pictorial art available today. In this book the authors rewrite the history of Chinese art wherever it is found--in caves, temples, or museum collections. They begin by grounding the Western reader in Chinese traditions and practices, showing in essence how to look at a Chinese painting. They then shed light on such topics as the development of classical and narrative painting, the origins of the literati tradition, the flowering of landscape painting, and the ways the traditions of Chinese painting have been carried into the present day. The book, which concludes with a glossary of techniques and terms and a list of artists by dynasty, is an essential resource for all lovers of, or newcomers to, Chinese painting. Three Thousand Years of Chinese Painting is the inaugural volume in a new series, The Culture & Civilization of China, a joint publishing venture of Yale University Press and the American Council of Learned Societies with the China International Publishing Group in Beijing. The undertaking will ultimately result in the publication of more than seventy-five volumes on the visual arts, classical literature, language, and philosophy, as well as several comprehensive reference volumes.
Historical Dictionary of Contemporary Art by
The Historical Dictionary of Contemporary Art illuminates important artists, styles, and movements of the past 70 years. Beginning with the immediate post-World War II period, it encompasses earlier 20th century masters, including Pablo Picasso, Henri Matisse, Henry Moore, Alberto Giacometti, Joan Miro, Jean Dubuffet, Stuart Davis, Georgia O'Keeffe, and other well-known figures, who remained creatively productive, while also inspiring younger generations. The book covers subsequent developments, including abstract expressionism, happenings, pop art, minimalism, conceptual art, arte povera, feminist art, photorealism, neo-expressionism, and postmodernism, as well as the contributions of such artists as Jackson Pollock, Willem de Kooning, Mark Rothko, Helen Frankenthaler, Joan Mitchell, Robert Rauschenberg, David Hockney, Ellsworth Kelly, Francis Bacon, Louise Bourgeois, Lucio Fontana, Andy Warhol, Richard Serra, Donald Judd, Joseph Beuys, Christo, Anselm Kiefer, Judy Chicago, Ai Weiwei, and Jeff Koons. Historical Dictionary of Contemporary Art contains a chronology, an introduction, and an extensive bibliography, including more than 900 cross-referenced entries on important artists, styles, terms, and movements.This book is an excellent resource for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about contemporary art.
The Tate Guide to Modern Art Terms by
How many times have you read the caption next to a work of art in a museum or gallery, or a review of an exhibition, and found yourself none the wiser? The language in which modern art is described can be even more mystifying than the art itself. Now, a fully updated and expanded edition of the acclaimed Tate Guide to Modern Art Terms offers a clear and reliable guide, with more than 450 pithy entries on the full range of international modern and contemporary art. Drawing on the expertise of Tate, the book provides an authoritative and up-to-date resource, small enough to fit into a bag or pocket. Spanning the dawn of Impressionism to the digital age, every term--whether a theme, movement, medium, or technique--is defined with clarity and precision. This is the perfect companion for all those wanting to increase their understanding and appreciation of modern and contemporary art.
Gardner's Art Through the Ages by
The 14TH EDITION of GARDNER'S ART THROUGH THE AGES provides you with a comprehensive, beautifully-illustrated tour of the world's great artistic traditions! Easy to read and understand, the fourteenth edition of the most widely-read art history book in the English language continues to evolve, providing a rich cultural backdrop for each of the covered periods and geographical locations, and incorporating new artists and art forms -- all reproduced according to the highest standards of clarity and color fidelity. A complete online environment, including all images and an eBook, is also available. The unique Scale feature will help you better visualize the actual size of the artworks shown in the book. A new timeline within each chapter, along with "The Big Picture" overviews at the end of every chapter, will help you review for exams.
Janson's History of Art by
NOTE: You are purchasing a standalone product; MyArtsLab does not come packaged with this content. If you would like to purchase both the physical text and MyArtsLab, search 013412720X / 9780134127200 Janson's History of Art: The Western Tradition, Reissued Eighth Edition, Combined Volume plus MyArtsLab for Art History -- Access Card Package, 8/e Package consists of: * 0133878295 / 9780133878295 Janson's History of Art: The Western Tradition, Reissued Eighth Edition, Combined Volume * 0133847896 / 9780133847895 MyArtsLab for Art History Valuepack Access Card MyArtsLab should only be purchased when required by an instructor. For Art History Survey courses Explore the reissued Janson and experience the history of art Janson's History of Art: The Western Tradition, Reissued Eighth Edition presents the same content as the text's Eighth Edition, published in 2010, now reimagined for digital learning via REVEL, and also available through the Pearson Custom Library. While remaining current with new discoveries and scholarship, the Reissued Eighth Edition maintains its focus on the object, its manufacture, and its visual character, and continues to consider the contribution of the artist as a key element of analysis. Throughout, the authors engage students by weaving a compelling narrative of how art has changed over time in the cultures that Europe has claimed as its heritage. Also available with MyArtsLab#65533; MyArtsLab for the Art History Survey course extends learning online, engaging students and improving results. Media resources with assignments bring concepts to life, and offer students opportunities to practice applying what they've learned. And Writing Space helps educators develop and assess concept mastery and critical thinking through writing, quickly and easily. Please note: this version of MyArtsLab does not include an eText. Janson's History of Art: The Western Tradition, Reissued Eighth Edition is also available via REVEL(tm), an immersive learning experience designed for the way today's students read, think, and learn. For enrollments of at least 25, the Pearson Custom Library allows you to create your own textbook by combining chapters from best-selling Pearson textbooks and by adding your own content, such as a guide to a local art museum, a map of monuments in your area, your syllabus, or a study guide you've created. Priced according to the number of chapters, a custom text may even save your students money.
A Dictionary of Modern and Contemporary Art by
This unique and authoritative reference work contains more than 2,000 clear and concise entries on all aspects of modern and contemporary art. Its impressive range of terms includes movements, styles, techniques, artists, critics, dealers, schools, and galleries. There are biographical entriesfor artists worldwide from the beginning of the 20th century through to the beginning of the 21st, from the Finnish architect Alvar Aalto to the French sculptor Jacques Zwobada. With international coverage, indications of public collections and publicly sited works, and in-depth entries for keytopics (for example, Cubism and abstract art), this dictionary is a fascinating and thorough guide for anyone with an interest in modern and contemporary culture, amateur or professional. Formerly the Dictionary of 20th Century Art, the text has been completely revised and updated for this major new edition. 300 entries have been added and it now contains entries on photography in modern art. With emphasis on recent art and artists, for example Damien Hirst, it has an exceptionallystrong coverage of art from the 1960s, which makes it particularly ideal for contemporary art enthusiasts. Further reading is provided at entry level to assist those wishing to know more about a particular subject. In addition, this edition features recommended web links for many entries, which areaccessed and kept up to date via the Dictionary of Modern Art companion website. The perfect companion for the desk, bedside table, or gallery visits, A Dictionary of Modern and Contemporary Art is an essential A-Z reference work for art students, artists, and art lovers.
The Visual Arts by
For over a quarter of a century this art historical tour de force has consistently proved the classic introduction to humandkind's artistic heritage. From our Paleolithic past to our digitised present, every continent and culture is covered in an articulate and well-balanced discussion--a broad and epic canvas that omits none of the fine detail. In this Revised Seventh Edition, contemporary art historian Michael Archer has brought the account of contemporary art up to date, reflecting the latest developments that continue to shape out cultural history.
The Bloomsbury Guide to Art by
Provides a fascinating insight into the origins and significance of the work of Western artists and architects. It includes tightly-focused entries on: individual artists (eg Salvador Dali); art, architecture and design terminology (eg Gothic); countries and their cultural significance (eg Art in France); theoretical concepts (eg formalism); and mythological and religious subjects and symbols (eg Christ). There are also contextualized entries on important individual works of art (eg The Haywain).
Art since 1900 : modernism, antimodernism, postmodernism
Groundbreaking in both its content and its presentation, Art Since 1900 has been hailed as a landmark study in the history of art. Conceived by some of the most influential art historians of our time, this extraordinary book has now been revised, expanded and brought right up to date to include the latest developments in the study and practice of art. With a clear year-by-year structure, the authors present 130 articles, each focusing on a crucial event - such as the creation of a seminal work, the publication of an important text, or the opening of a major exhibition - to tell the myriad stories of art from 1900 to the present. All the key turning-points and breakthroughs of modernism and postmodernism are explored in depth, as are the frequent antimodernist reactions that proposed alternative visions. This expanded edition includes a new introduction on the impact of globalization, as well as essays on the development of Synthetic Cubism, early avant-garde film, Brazilian modernism, postmodern architecture, Moscow conceptualism, queer art, South African photography, and the rise of the new museum of art. Acclaimed as the definitive work on the subject, Art Since 1900 is essential reading for anyone seeking to understand the complexities of art in the modern age.
Art Is Not What You Think It Is by
Art Is Not What You Think It Is utilizes original research to present a series of critical incursions into the current state of debate on the idea of art, making manifest what has been largely missing or unsaid in those discussions. Links museology, history, theory, and criticism to the realities of contemporary social conditions and shows how they have structurally functioned in a variety of contexts Deals with divisive and controversial problems such as blasphemy and idolatry, and the problem of artistic truth Addresses relations between European notions about art and artifice and those developed in other and especially indigenous cultural traditions
Pastimes by
Pastimes is the first book in English on Chinese
jinshi, or antiquarianism, the pinnacle of traditional
connoisseurship of ancient artifacts
and inscriptions. As a scholarly field, jinshi was
inaugurated in the Northern Song (960-1127)
and remained popular until the early twentieth
century. Literally the study of inscriptions on
bronze vessels and stone steles, jinshi combined
calligraphy and painting, the collection of artifacts,
and philological and historical research.
For aficionados of Chinese art, the practices of
jinshi offer a fascinating glimpse into the lives
of traditional Chinese scholars and artists, who
spent their days roaming the sometimes seamy
world of the commercial art market before
attending elegant antiquarian parties, where
they composed poetic tributes to their ancient
objects of obsession. And during times of political
upheaval, such as the nineteenth century, the
art and artifact studies of jinshi legitimatized
reform and contributed to a dynamic and progressive
field of learning.
Indeed, the paradox of jinshi is that it was
nearly as venerable as the ancient artifacts themselves,
and yet it was also subject to continual
change. This was particularly true in the last
decades of the Qing (1644-1911) and the first
decades of the twentieth century, when a diverse
group of cosmopolitan and science-minded
scholars contributed to what was considered at
the time to be a "revolution in traditional linguistics."
These antiquarians transformed how
historians used literary sources and material
artifacts from the ancient past and set the stage
for a new understanding of the longevity and
cohesiveness of Chinese history.
The history of jinshi offers insights that are
relevant to Chinese cultural and intellectual
history, art history, and politics. Scholars of the
modern period will find the resiliency and continuing
influence of jinshi to be an important
counterpoint to received views on the trajectory
of Chinese cultural and intellectual change.
Glittering Images by
WIth full-color illustrations throughout From the best-selling author of Sexual Personae and Break, Blow, Burn and one of our most acclaimed cultural critics, here is an enthralling journey through Western art's defining moments, from the ancient Egyptian tomb of Queen Nefertari to George Lucas's volcano planet duel in Revenge of the Sith. America's premier intellectual provocateur returns to the subject that brought her fame, the great themes of Western art. Passionately argued, brilliantly written, and filled with Paglia's trademark audacity, Glittering Images takes us on a tour through more than two dozen seminal images, some famous and some obscure or unknown--paintings, sculptures, architectural styles, performance pieces, and digital art that have defined and transformed our visual world. She combines close analysis with background information that situates each artist and image within its historical context--from the stone idols of the Cyclades to an elegant French rococo interior to Jackson Pollock's abstract Green Silver to Renée Cox's daring performance piece Chillin' with Liberty. And in a stunning conclusion, she declares that the avant-garde tradition is dead and that digital pioneer George Lucas is the world's greatest living artist. Written with energy, erudition, and wit, Glittering Images is destined to change the way we think about our high-tech visual environment.
European Art by
A bold revision of the history of European art, told through the lens of neuroscience Ambitious and much anticipated, this book celebrates the value of recent neuroscientific discoveries as tools for art-historical analysis. Case studies ranging across the whole history of European art demonstrate the relationships between forms of visual expression and the objects of visual attention, emotional connection, and intellectual interest in daily life, thus illuminating the previously hidden meanings of many artistic styles and conventions. Art historians have until now concentrated on the conscious intentions of artists and patrons, but neuroscience provides insights into the role of non-conscious mental processes in the production and consumption of works of art. As John Onians powerfully argues, these insights have the potential to revolutionize cultural history. For the first time, an authority renowned for a more traditional approach has applied new neuroscientific knowledge to a wide range of art-historical problems, both familiar and fresh. The result is a provocative, original, and persuasive case for neuroscience as an aid to research in the humanities.
Chinese Art and Its Encounter with the World by
The book offers a bridge into the critical understanding of modern Chinese art through its encounter with the world beyond China's borders. David Clarke demonstrates Chinese art's interconnections with Western cultures while exploring its inherited cultural traditions and internal historical change. The first section deals with the cross-cultural trajectories of individual Chinese artists who traveled from China to the West and then returned. The focus then shifts from the movement of individual artists between cultures to the process by which specific genres of Western art have been interpreted by Chinese artists. The final section illuminates the encounter of cultures via visual representations of Macau and Hong Kong.
Why Art Photography? by
Contemporary art photography is paradoxical. Anyone can look at it and form an opinion about what they see, yet it represents critical positions that only a small minority of well-informed viewers can usually access. Why Art Photography? provides a lively, accessible introduction to the ideas behind today#65533;s striking photographic images. Exploring key issues such as ambiguity, objectivity, staging, authenticity, the digital and photography#65533;s expanded field, the chapters offer fresh perspectives on existing debates. While the main focus is on the present, the book traces concepts and visual styles to their origins, drawing on carefully selected examples from recognized international photographers. Images, theories and histories are described in a clear, concise manner and key terms are defined along the way. This book is ideal for anyone wanting to deepen their understanding of photography as an art form.
The library has many books in its collection that are artist biographies. To search for biographical materials, try using the Advanced Search, and use both search boxes:
Take a look at this example, which is a search for biographical materials on the Chinese-Australian artist Wang Lan.
Avatars and Antiheroes by
Chinese contemporary art is currently enjoying a worldwide boom, fetching record-breaking prices at auction houses around the globe. The country's rapid transition from Communism to consumerism, and the dizzying changes brought about by urbanization, globalization and new technologies have created a fascinating explosion of art overwhelmingly concerned with the search for self-identity in a society that, from Confucius to Mao, has traditionally disregarded individualism for the collective good. Avatars and Antiheroes reflects the schizophrenic
A Biographical Dictionary of Artists, Andromeda by
Covering over 1300 artists, this comprehensive and detailed reference source will be of great value to anyone researching art and its history. The dictionary is made up of alphabetically arranged entries for painters (such as Monet), architects (such as Aalto), and sculptors (such as Brancusi) from pre-Christian times to the present (see, for example, Berlin painter, Hockney). The coverage of the book is truly global, with many Asian and African artists included. Each artist's entry includes dates, training, career, influences on his or her work, and, for approximately one-third of the artists, a bibliography of further reading.
Dictionary of Artists' Models by 
Fresh Ink by
Contemporary Chinese society has been called a culture at the crossroads of the past and the future, and nowhere is this tension more apparent than in Chinese ink painting today. Artists working in this highly traditional medium draw from a wealth of ancient themes, but must resolve them within contemporary Chinese culture. In Fresh Ink, ten of China's leading contemporary artists engage directly with the past by creating ten new works in response to older masterpieces, ranging from classical Chinese scrolls to a scholar's rock to a drip painting by Jackson Pollock. Their personal visions reflect diverse concerns and influences, whether Xu Bing's play on the absurdly monumental, Qin Feng's system of communicative signs, or the keen eye for society evident in the work of Li Jin, Yu Hong and Liu Xiaodong. An adventurous pairing of contemporary artworks with their forbears, Fresh Ink blurs the boundaries between traditional and contemporary, East and West.
Half the sky : conversations with women artists in China by 
The Lives of the Artists by
These biographies of the great quattrocento artists have long been considered among the most important of contemporary sources on Italian Renaissance art. Vasari, who invented the term "Renaissance," was the first to outline the influential theory of Renaissance art that traces a progression through Giotto, Brunelleschi, and finally the titanic figures of Michaelangelo, Da Vinci, and Raphael. This new translation, specially commissioned for the World's Classics series, contains thirty-six of the most important lives and is fully annotated.
Modern Chinese Artists by
The first biographical dictionary of its kind in any Western language, this pioneering work provides short, information-packed entries for approximately 1,800 Chinese artists of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. In recent years interest in modern Chinese art has spread across the globe. Public and private collections are being formed; courses in modern Chinese art are offered in many universities and museums. At the same time, the number of practicing artists in China and the amount of published material have greatly increased. Michael Sullivan's pathbreaking book Art and Artists of Twentieth-Century China, published in 1996, included a biographical index of some eight hundred artists. This volume includes more than twice that number, with entries that have been revised, expanded, and brought up to date. Illustrated with portraits and photographs of more than seventy leading artists, this comprehensive, convenient reference will be an essential tool for anyone interested in the study or collection of modern Chinese art.
Nine Lives: the Birth of Avant-Garde Art in New China by
Lenni wants to find someone to understand her and the new girl could just be that person Lenni can't please anyone lately. At school, her friends want her to kiss someone for a stupid competition. At home, her grandmother wants her to be more ladylike. And on the playing field, her friend Adam has started acting like a big weirdo around her. Then Lenni meets Jo, the new girl at school, and everything feels so normal. Jo is cool, fun, and unlike anyone Lenni's ever known—finally, someone's on Lenni's wavelength!
The Oxford Dictionary of American Art and Artists by
With the advent of abstract expressionism in the 1940s, America became the white hot center of the artistic universe. Now, in The Oxford Dictionary of American Art and Artists, the first such volume to appear in three decades, Ann Lee Morgan offers an informative, insightful, and long overdue resource on our nation's artistic heritage. Featuring 945 alphabetically arranged entries, here is an indispensable biographical and critical guide to American art from colonial times to contemporary postmodernism. Readers will find a wealth of factual detail and insightful analysis of the leading American painters, ranging from John Singleton Copley, Thomas Cole, and Mary Cassatt to such modern masters as Jackson Pollack, Romare Bearden, and Andy Warhol. Morgan offers razor-sharp entries on sculptors ranging from Alexander Calder to Louise Nevelson, on photographers such as Berenice Abbott, Man Ray, Walker Evans, and Ansel Adams, and on contemporary installation artists, including video master Bill Viola. In addition, the dictionary provides entries on important individuals connected to the art scene, including collectors such as Peggy Guggenheim and critics such as Clement Greenberg. Morgan also examines notable American institutions, organizations, schools, techniques, styles, and movements. The range of coverage is indeed impressive, but equally important is the quality of analysis that appears in entry after entry. Morgan gives readers a wealth of trustworthy and authoritative information as well as perceptive, well-informed criticism of artists and their work. In addition, the book is thoroughly cross-referenced, so readers can easily find additional information on any topic of interest. Beautifully written, filled with fascinating historical background and penetrating insight, The Oxford Dictionary of American Art and Artists is an essential one-volume resource for art lovers everywhere.
This link opens in a new window
