Skip to Main Content

Poly Archives & Special Collections

Guide to the collections in the Poly Archives at Bern Dibner Library, New York University.

Our Archives, Ourselves class

Spring 2022 & 2024

Tandon students enrolled in the course "Our Archives, Ourselves" created original research projects focusing on individual interests within the history of Poly/Tandon.  Projects from the Spring 2022 and Spring 2024 semesters were created in Omeka. Link out to view theses exhibits: https://polyarchives.hosting.nyu.edu

A screenshot of the Poly Archives Omeka homepage. As the header is a collage of black and white images of NYU Tandon School of Engineering students. On the left side of the college is a picture of the Polytechnical Institute of Brooklyn Seal with features such as the motto (“Veritas Et Ingenium”) and the years 1854 - 1954. Below the header, to the left is a navigation section with separate links to 'Browse Items', ‘Browse Collection', 'About', 'Browse Exhibits', and 'Neatline Time'. In the middle is a description of the page (written: “The exhibits on this page were created by NYU Tandon School of Engineering students in the TCS Advanced Seminar, "Our Archives, Ourselves." Students were asked to explore an area of their school's history, supported by research in the Poly Archives (1854-2014). The Poly Archives is the repository of Brooklyn Polytechnic, the precursor of Tandon before the merger with NYU in 2014”). Below the description is a ‘Featured Exhibit’ section with the “Noll & the Picture Phone” exhibit linked (included is a small image of the “Computer-Generated Ballet” art and a description, written: “Exploring Noll’s Archives in the NYU Poly Archives Tommy Qiu May 16th, 2022”). The last section below the header, to the right, is titled ‘ Recently Added Items’ with links to ‘The Poly Reporter, November 6, 2002’ (includes a small image of the newspaper with a written description: “This page of the Poly Reporter contains a graph with the budget requests of various clubs and the amount which was actually allocated.”) and computer science curriculum (includes a small image of a page from a course catalog).

 

 

Accessibility (opens in new window)