The Call to Social Work is a presentation of narrative descriptions about the work and life of a wide variety of contemporary social workers. The book provides an in-depth understanding of why people choose social work, how they garner meaning from their work, and what they struggle with as they provide needed services. Additionally, it presents more information about the everyday practice of social work, both the challenges and the joys. Instructors who use this book in their courses will be able to contrast their ideals of practice with the realities captured in each life story, while students who read the book will be able to think about whether each story represents good practice, or what principles they would adhere to based on their understanding of social work.
This essential guide to study skills takes social work students through every step of their degree journey, providing them with the academic tools they will need to thrive along the way. Inventively informed by the insights and reflections of qualifying students, the book offers effective guidance that is grounded in real experience of the social work degree. It is particularly suited to those in their early years of study and supports students as ‘social workers in the making’. The book covers a comprehensive range of the core study skills, including: Time management; Literature searches; Engaging with research; Responding to new styles of social work learning and teaching; Critical thinking; Academic writing; Presentations. With reflective questions, handy practical tips and links to helpful websites, this accessible handbook is the perfect study companion for every student on the path to professional qualification.
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Dictionary of Social Work by PiersonWith over 1500 entries, this popular dictionary provides concise and up to date explanations of the theories, approaches and terminology that define front-line social work and social care.
Encyclopedia of Social Welfare History in North America by John M. Herrick; Paul H. StuartProvides readers with basic information about the history of social welfare in Canada, Mexico, and the United States including how these three nations have dealt with social welfare issues, some similar across borders, others unique, as well as to describe important events, developments, and the lives and work of some key contributors to social welfare developments.
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2005
Encyclopedia of Social Work with Groups by Alex Gitterman; Robert SalmonWhat do you have to know, today, to be an effective group worker and what are the different group work approaches? With 110 articles and entries, this book provides a comprehensive overview of social work with groups from its initial development to its astounding range of diverse practice today with many populations in different places. The articles have been written by social workers trained in the group approach from the United States, Canada, England, Australia, Spain and Japan, and all involved are well known group workers, acknowledged as experts in the area. The book covers all aspects of social work with groups: including its history, values, major models, approaches and methods, education, research, journals, phases of development, working with specific populations and ages, plus many more. Each article includes references which can be a major resource for future exploration in the particular subject area. Both editors have many years of productive work in group work practice and other areas and are board members of The Association for the Advancement of Social Work with Groups. The Encyclopedia of Social Work with Groups will be of interest to students, practitioners, social work faculty, novice and experienced group workers.
A dictionary of social work and social care by John HarrisThis dictionary provides A-Z definitions of terms from the broad field of social care. Accessible coverage of social work theories, methods, policies, organizations, and statutes, as well as key terms from interdisciplinary topics such as health and education, make this an ideal reference for students as well as qualified social workers.
The SAGE handbook of social work by Mel GraySplit into 7 parts, this handbook investigates: policy dimensions, practice, perspectives, values and ethics, the context of social work, research and future challenges. Drawn from an international field of excellence, the contributors each offer a critical analysis of their individual area of expertise.
The Blackwell Companion to Social Work by Martin Davies (Editor)Fully revised and restructured, this fresh edition offers students and trainee social workers an incisive and authoritative introduction to the subject. As well as entirely new sections on theory and practice, the expert contributions which have shaped the companion s leading reputation have been updated and now include innovative standalone essays on social work theory. Comprehensively reworked new edition comprising six substantive sections covering essential topics for trainee social workers in effect, six books in one Includes an extensive introduction and chapters by leading experts on the focus and purpose of social work Provides a unified textbook for trainees and an invaluable professional reference volume Features a wealth of new material on theory and practice alongside detailed expositions of the social and psychological framework, stages in the human life cycle, and the objectives and core components of social work Each chapter lists five key points to remember, questions for discussion, and recommendations for further reading