Barnouw, Erik. A History of Broadcasting in the United States. 3 vols. New York, NY: Oxford University Press, 1966-1970.
Bobst Ref 1 HE8689.8 .B36 v.1-3
The standard history of radio and television in the U.S., and still the best.
See also Lichty and Topping, American Broadcasting: A Source Book on the History of Radio and Television Bobst Ref1 HE8689.8 .L5 1975.
Bognar, Desi K. International Dictionary of Broadcasting and Film. 2nd ed. Boston: Focal Press, 2000.
Bobst Ref 1 PN1990.4 .B64 2000
This dictionary, international in scope, defines technical terms
related to film and television production. Also included are lists of
professional organizations, awards and award presentations festivals,
international standards, and film and television systems. See also
Spottiswoode, Raymond. The Focal Encyclopedia of Film and Television Techniques. London: Focal Press, 1969. Bobst Ref 1 TR847 .F62 1969b
Brooks, Tim and Earle Marsh. The Complete Directory To Prime Time Network TV Shows, 1946 - Present. 7th ed. New York, NY: Ballantine Books, 1999.
Bobst Ref 1 PN1992.18 .B68 1999
Documents all regular, prime-time TV series on commercial U.S.
networks, from 1946 through 1984, as well as selected syndicated
series. "Prime Time" is defined as 6:00pm through late night, and
"Series" as a run of at least four consecutive weeks.
Brown, Les. Les Brown's Encyclopedia of Television. 3rd ed. Detroit: Gale Research, 1992.
Bobst Ref 1 PN1992.18 .B7 1992
An A to Z compendium of key individuals, organizations, series and topics in U.S. television history.
Includes an appendix of "highest rated programs."
Donovan, Paul. The Radio Companion. London: HarperCollins Publishers, 1991.
Bobst PN1991.3 .G7 D65 1991
Focusing on British radio programming, this guide is organized
alphabetically by title of program, proper name, and corporation.
Dunning, John. On the Air: The Encyclopedia of Old-Time Radio New York: Oxford University Press, 1998.
Bobst Ref 1 PN1991.3 .U6 D8 1998
Lists shows alphabetically by full title, with a detailed index of
stars and staff for cross-referencing. Limited to comedy, drama and
Erickson, Hal. Television Cartoon Shows: An Illustrated Encyclopedia, 1949-2003. 2 vols. Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland, 2005.
Bobst Ref 1 PN1992.8 .A59 E74 2005
This reference source lists only those cartoon programs specifically produced for television.
Programs are organized alphabetically by title. Production credit indexing is included.
International Encyclopedia of Communications. 4 vols. Erik Barnouw, ed. New York, NY: Oxford University Press, 1989.
Bobst Ref 1 P87.5 .I5 1989 v.1-4
Provides signed, scholarly articles on hundreds of subjects related to
verbal and visual communications. Entries range from individuals (Orson
Welles, David Sarnoff) to larger topics (Religious Broadcasting,
Interactive Media), are narrative in content, and include brief
bibliographies for further research. A "Topical Guide" supplies
cross-references (see especially Radio, Television, Motion Pictures,
McNeil, Alex. Total Television: A Comprehensive Guide to Programming from 1948 to the Present. 4th ed. New York, NY: Penguin Books, 1996.
Bobst Ref 1 PN1992.3 .U5 M3 1996
Lists of television programs, noteworthy specials, Emmy and Peabody
award winners, and top-rated programs are included in this source.
Names and program titles are indexed.
Schwartz, Jon D. and Robert C. Reinehr. Handbook of Old-Time Radio: A Comprehensive Guide to Golden Age Radio Listening and Collecting. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1993.
Bobst Ref 1 PN1991.3 .U6 S93 1993
Covering the years 1926-1962, this guide to radio programming is organized both by genre and title.
An annotated bibliography and program purchasing guide are also included.
Slide, Anthony. The Television Industry: A Historical Dictionary. New York, NY: Greenwood Press, 1991.
Bobst Ref 1 PN1992.3 .U5 S57 1991
A dictionary that focuses not on television personalities but on corporate names and technical terms.
A general bibliography, program and name index are included.
Terrace, Vincent. Television Specials: 3,201 Entertainment Spectaculars, 1939-1993. Jefferson, NC: McFarland, 1995.
Bobst Ref 1 PN1992.8 .S64 T37 1995
An alphabetical list of network entertainment specials.
Includes a performers' index.