Research Guides: Entrepreneurship &amp; Startups: VC, Funders, and Competitors

Venture Capital Funding Databases

Using the databases below, you can screen for venture capital firms by a variety of criteria. Identify competitors by seeing which startups are working on similar products/services and gain insights into who to pitch by seeing which investors are interested in your industry and similar startups.

CB Insights This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use the "Advanced Search" to screen by deals, companies, and investors/acquirers. Consult the "Research" portal for startups trend and analysis reports, including the quarterly "Venture Capital Funding Report".
Requires creation of a CB Insights account with an active NYU email. If your credentials have expired or you receive a trial account error, contact info@cbinsights.com.

Not all "Research" reports fall under NYU's subscription. Locked "Expert Intelligence" reports are not sold to academic clients.

Individual accounts may only download up to 6,000 rows of data per year. Faculty accounts with expanded downloading capabilities may be available on a first-come, first-served basis. Email the Business Library team using our form for more information.
Pitchbook This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Research and analyze companies, deals, funds, investors and service providers across the entire private investment lifecycle.
Please use NYU VPN to access if you are coming from off campus.

Users must create an individual account using an NYU email address at the above link. Accounts reset annually on August 1st and users must re-register. Users must always use NYU Libraries' link to log in.

Downloading/printing is limited to 10 daily and 25 monthly rows of data. Screen capturing is prohibited. (The Business Library offers expanded downloading accounts to NYU faculty and PhDs on a first-come, first-served basis. NYU researchers with funding may also purchase an enhanced account with expanded downloading capabilities. Learn more here.)
Preqin This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides financial information and data on alternative asset markets worldwide. NYU's subscription includes private equity and venture capital, private debt, real estate, hedge funds, infrastructure, sustainability/ESG, and Preqin's Insight+ analysis. Other modules are not available at this time.
Users may request large data downloads (that require delivery via a custom Preqin link) via Preqin's live chat. Preqin's private equity and venture capital data is also accessible via WRDS.
Capital IQ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Under the "Screening" tab, use any of their default PE/VC templates or create your own.
Third-party cookies for the domain https://secure.signin.spglobal.com need to be enabled for access.
LSEG Workspace This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Click "Screening & Analysis" in the top bar, then "Private Equity".
Each user is permitted to view and/or download up to 150 pages of analyst report content ("AMR") per 24 hour period. Faculty may request expanded AMR access - pending availability - by emailing the Business Library team using our form.

Users may log in via the web platform, or optionally via LSEG's Mac and PC software.

Crunchbase (Free Version)
Similar to CB Insights. Cross-reference your competitors and funders here.

Angel Investors

Not ready for or not interested in VC funding at present? eLab maintains a large list of funding sources, many of which are angel investors focused on NYC.

Grant Funding

Foundation Directory Online This link opens in a new window
Social entrepreneurs who plan to start a not-for-profit, such as a 501(c)(3), can discover private and public foundation grant funding opportunities via this database.
Foundation Grants to Individuals Online This link opens in a new window
Foundation Grants to Individuals Online provides information on foundations that provide funding for students, artists, researchers, and other individual grant-seekers.
GrantForward This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A research funding opportunity database that includes the ability to search for pre-solicitations, grants, awards, sponsors, and researchers. Includes extensive, researcher-focused support materials and an intelligent grant recommendation engine.
Users must create an account with their @nyu.edu email address.

Workshop: When and How to Raise Venture Capital

This Leslie eLab workshop (YouTube video; 1 hour 36 minutes) introduces the different sources of financing for startups at each stage of growth, and provides specific tactics for startup fundraising. Attend the workshop in person for personalized advice.

Entrepreneurship & Startups

Venture Capital Funding Databases

Angel Investors

Grant Funding

Workshop: When and How to Raise Venture Capital

Books