Media and Communication

Includes the New York Times, Chicago Tribune, LA Times, Christian Science Monitor, and more. Newspapers are in PDF format and provide a visual representation of the newspaper.

Search the historical archives of major African-American newspapers: Atlanta Daily World, Baltimore Afro-American, New York Amsterdam News, Pittsburgh Courier, and Chicago Defender. Newspapers are in PDF format and provide a visual representation of each issue.

Access World News provides the html full text and, for some titles, the pdf "as printed" visual representation, of articles from a variety of national and international news sources, including newspapers, digital-native news websites, television and radio transcripts, blogs, college and university newspapers, journals, magazines, and some audio and video. Most international titles are English language. Dates of coverage vary from title to title, but primarily span the late 20th century to present.

America's Historical Newspapers includes articles from local and regional American and Hispanic American newspapers from all 50 states. Coverage dates from 1690 to the early 20th century. Articles have been scanned as PDFs and include images and advertisements, and are full text searchable.

Access New York Newspaper Archives and discover stories of the past with NewspaperArchive.com. The archive covers New York history from 1753-2023, with lots of content from smaller, local newspapers. Articles have been scanned as PDFs and include images and advertisements, and are full text searchable.

PressReader (formerly PressDisplay) provides access to newspapers from around the world, often in the original language. Dates of coverage vary from the most current three months to the most current decade. Newspapers are presented in a browsable, "as printed" visual format.

This database provides archival access to the following magazines: U. S. News & World Report, Time, Sports Illustrated, People, Life, Fortune, Forbes, Esquire, Businessweek, Architectural Digest, Maclean's, The Atlantic, Vanity Fair, and Moment. Users can search across these magazines, or select individual titles.

Women's Magazine Archive is a searchable, primary-source archive of leading women's interest magazines dating from the 19th century through to the 21st. Some popular titles include: Cosmopolitan, Redbook, Essence, Ladies' Home Journal, and Good Housekeeping. It provides full-text access to the foremost consumer magazines aimed at a female readership, which serve as canonical records of evolving assumptions about gender roles and cultural mores. The magazines are all scanned cover-to-cover in high-resolution color, ensuring that the original print artefacts are faithfully reproduced and that valuable non-article items, such as advertisements, are included. Topics covered in this resource include family life, home economics, health, careers, fashion, culture, and many more.

The African American Historical Serials Collection documents the history of African American life and religious organizations from materials published between 1829 and 1922.

A collection of digitized US and UK trade magazines cover topics including film, music, broadcasting and theater from from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000. Magazines have been scanned cover-to-cover in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of all articles, covers, ads and reviews.

Provides indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.Dates of coverage: 1890-1982. Use the Readers' Guide Full Text for 1983 forward.

Flipster is a platform for browsing the current issues of popular press magazines in the "as printed" color editions. Titles include The Atlantic, Essence, Forbes, the New Yorker, Bloomberg Businessweek, Esquire, Cinema Scope, The Advocate, and more.

This family of historical collections contains books, pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers, government documents and ephemera printed in America over three centuries. Includes America's Historical Newspapers, American Broadsides and Ephemera, Early American Imprints (Series I and II), House and Senate Journals (Series I, 1789-1817), and Senate Executive Journals (1789-1980)

The Nation Archive Premium Edition contains indexing, abstracting, and full text for the complete archive of The Nation, beginning with its first issue in 1865 all the way to the present. The Nation is America’s oldest weekly magazine and one if its premier journals of opinion since its inception in 1865.

J. Walter Thompson: Advertising America is an archive of the history, operation, policies and accomplishments of the J. Walter Thompson advertising firm. Coverage dates run from the late 19th century to the 1990s. Collections include: print advertisements, publications, account files for nine key clients, staff newsletters, business records, and other internal company documents. A wide range of brands, companies, and industries are covered from automobiles to cosmetics and cruises.

The Vanderbilt Television News Archive is a searchable collection of the individual network evening news broadcasts from ABC, NBC, and CBS from 1968-present, CNN from 1995-present, and Fox from 2004-present. Broadcasts from CNN and NBC can be streamed; broadcasts from all sources, including ABC, CBS, and Fox, can be loaned and downloaded in MP4 format after creating an account and paying a nominal duplication fee ($12 per clip + a $10 processing fee).

The March of Time is a digitized archive of the newsreel series of the same name, which was broadcast to American theatergoers and television audiences from 1935 to 1967.

World Newsreels Online: 1929-1966, a streaming video product which captures full runs of many of the key international newsreels produced during the early twentieth century. These films, produced from 1929 right through to the early post-war period, provide a unique, and until now largely neglected, resource that will give scholars a real insight into how people learned about, and lived through the events that occurred during this period of history.

Access World News provides the html full text and, for some titles, the pdf "as printed" visual representation, of articles from a variety of national and international news sources, including newspapers, digital-native news websites, television and radio transcripts, blogs, college and university newspapers, journals, magazines, and some audio and video. Most international titles are English language. Dates of coverage vary from title to title, but primarily span the late 20th century to present.