"We are building a free living library of Jewish texts and their interconnections, in Hebrew and in translation. Our scope is Torah in the broadest sense, from Tanakh to Talmud to Zohar to modern texts and all the volumes of commentary in between. Sefaria is created, edited, and annotated by an open community."
Includes the full text of all manuscript versions and first-printed editions of the Babylonian Talmud, with sophisticated search capabilities. The computerized database provides scholars with the means to analyze the literary and stylistic features throughout the breadth and depth of the entire Talmud in its many versions. Thousands of high-resolution images of the manuscript fragments are provided to aid in in-depth study, including images of hundreds of ancient Mishnah fragments.
"The Index, developed by the Saul Lieberman Institute of Talmudic Research at the Jewish Theological Seminary of America, includes the Mishna, Tosefta, Jerusalem Talmud and the Babylonian Talmud. A search for a specific page within the Babylonian Talmud, for example, will yield a list of references to other works in which the Talmudic text is discussed. The Index refers to more than 1000 books from the Geonic period to modern times, covering both modern critical scholarship and traditional works.
A new, exciting feature made possible in the Internet version of the database is direct linking to the text of some of the indexed books, which are available online at Hebrewbooks.org."
(Yeshiva U. Library Blog, July 11, 2013)
"The material is based on a rich variety of original manuscript collections from the unique holdings of the American Jewish Historical Society in New York; we provide access to six major organisational collections and twenty-four collections of personal papers; all of which have been digitized in their entirety."
Philip Cowen Papers
Bernard C. Ehrenreich Papers
Bernhard Felsenthal Papers
Franks Family Papers
Gomez Family Papers
Gratz Family Papers
Myer S. Isaacs Collection
Philip Jacobs Collection
Solomon Robert Kagan Papers
Marion E. Kenworthy Papers
Emma Lazarus Collection
Isaac Leeser Collection
Levy Family (New York, Philadelphia and Baltimore) Papers
Jefferson Monroe Levy Collection
Jonas Phillips Levy Papers
Uriah P. Levy Collection
Louis Marshall Papers
Moses Family (of New York City) Papers
Moss Family of Philadelphia Papers
Nones Family Papers
Haym Salomon Collection
Seixas Family Papers