Skip to main content

Gender & Sexuality Studies: Background Info

This guide provides descriptions of commonly used library resources for research and scholarship related to gender and sexuality.

Online Bibliographies

Below is a select list of relevant bibliographies from Oxford Bibliographies Online, which list core works on a topic in a given discipline.

Feminist Geography (geography)

Feminist Theory (sociology)

Families with Gay, Lesbian, or Bisexual Parents (social work)

Gay & Lesbian Parents (childhood studies)

Gays & Lesbians in the Media (communication)

GLBQT Cinema (media studies)

Gender (anthropology)

Gender (sociology)

Gender & Childhood (childhood studies)

Gender & Education (sociology)

Gender & the Media (communication)

Gender & Work (sociology)

Gender Stratification (sociology)

Geography of Sexuality (geography)

Housework (sociology)

Intersectionalities (sociology)

Masculinity (sociology)

Michel Foucault (sociology)

Motherhood (sociology)

Pornography (media studies)

Prostitution (criminology)

Queer Theory (media studies)

Queer Theory & Childhood (childhood studies)

Sex & Gender (psychology)

Sex versus Gender (sociology)

Sexual Minority Parenting (psychology)

Sexual Orientation (psychology)

Sexualities (sociology)

Sexuality (anthropology)

Sexuality (childhood studies)

Welfare Policy & Gender (sociology)

Women & Film (media studies)

Women in Music (music)

 

About Reference Sources

Reference works, including dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks, provide background information on a topic and are especially useful at the beginning of a research project. They can help you:

  • get an overview of a topic
  • gather fast facts
  • define terms, theories, and people in an area
  • focus your argument
  • find further readings written by experts in the field

Online Reference Sources

Below is a selection of electronic encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks.  For additional titles, search BobCat's "Books & More" tab using the following subject headings (listed alphabetically):

  • African American gay men
  • African American lesbians
  • African American transgender people
  • Asexual people
  • Bisexuals
  • Cisgender people
  • Gay and Lesbian Studies
  • Gay couples
  • Gay culture
  • Gay liberation movement
  • Gay men 
  • Gays
  • Gender
  • Gender expression
  • Gender nonconformity
  • Gender-nonconforming people
  • Feminism
  • Gender identity
  • Heterosexuals
  • Homophobia
  • Homosexuality
  • Intersectionality (Sociology)
  • Intersex people
  • Lesbian couples
  • Lesbian culture
  • Lesbian feminism
  • Lesbian feminist theory
  • Lesbians 
  • Masculinity 
  • Men's Studies
  • Queer theory
  • Sex
  • Sexology
  • Sex role 
  • Sex workers
  • Sexual minority community
  • Transgender men
  • Transgender people
  • Transgender women
  • Transphobia
  • Transsexuals
  • Women
  • Women's Studies