Canadian Gay and Lesbian Archives (Toronto)
Created in 1973 by the collective that produced the newspaper, Body Politic, the archives' mission is "to collect and maintain information and materials relating to the gay and lesbian movement in Canada and elsewhere."
Center for Sex & Culture Library and Archive (San Francisco) This unique collection is organized around the desire for sexual liberation of one sort or another and the belief that undoing cultural restrictions on consensual sexual activity is an inherent good for the physical, psychological, and sexual health of our community, no matter how narrowly or broadly that community is defined. Includes books, magazines, journals, zines, comics, dissertations, works of art, videos, memorabilia, and the personal papers of key members of the community.
Free Library of Philadelphia (Philadelphia)
Has one of the largest gay and lesbian collections in a public library (after the San Francisco Public Library).
Gay and Lesbian Collections - AIDS/HIV Collections (New York City) The Manuscripts and Archives Division of the New York Public Library holds over 100 collections pertaining to the history and culture of gay men and lesbians, and to the history of the AIDS/HIV epidemic.
Gerber/Hart Library & Archives (Chicago)
Founded in Chicago in 1981, it is the Midwest's largest gay, lesbian and bisexual circulating library, archives, and resource center.
Human Sexuality Collection (Ithaca)
Housed in the Rare & Manuscript Collections of Cornell University Library, this collection focuses on gay and lesbian history and the politics of pornography in the 19th and 20th centuries. The core of the collection comes from the Mariposa Education and Research Foundation.
June Mazer Lesbian Archives (Los Angeles)
Originally known as the West Coast Lesbian Collection, this is the only archive in the western United States "dedicated exclusively to preserving lesbian history." Holdings reach back to 1895 and include the papers of veteran lesbian activists Phyllis Lyon and Del Martin.
Leather Archives & Museum (Chicago)
The Leather Archives & Museum is a library, museum, and archives pertaining to Leather, fetishism, sadomasochism, and alternative sexual practices of all sexual orientations and genders. The library collection contains published books, magazines, scholarly publications, films, and electronic resources, and the archival collection contains unpublished papers and records from notable activists, artists, businesses, and organizations.
Lesbian Herstory Archives (New York City)
Begun in 1974 as the private library of lesbian feminists Joan Nestle and Deborah Edel. Holdings range from standard books and publications through unpublished diaries and clippings files to oral histories and videotapes.
Leslie-Lohman Museum of Gay and Lesbian Art (New York City)
The Leslie Lohman Museum of Gay and Lesbian Art is the first dedicated LGBTQ art museum in the world with a mission to exhibit and preserve LGBTQ art and foster the artists who create it.
LGBT Community Center National History Archive (New York City)
The Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Community Center's history archive is a national leader in gay and lesbian archives by virtue of the size of its collection and advocacy efforts for gay and lesbian history. Includes thousands of papers, periodicals, correspondence, and photographs donated by lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender individuals and organizations.
LGBT Community Center Pat Parker/Vito Russo Library (New York City)
The Center Library was founded to encourage and facilitate the reading and research of LGBT literature. It is a lending library connected with others around the city, sponsor of a monthly reading group, and producer and/or collaborator for literary events of interest to the LGBT community.
ONE Archives Foundation, Inc. (Los Angeles)
ONE Archives Foundation, Inc. is an independent non-profit organization dedicated to telling the accurate and authentic stories of LGBTQ people, history and culture through public exhibitions, educational projects and trainings, and community outreach programs.
QZAP: Queer Zine Archive Project (online)
The mission of the Queer Zine Archive Project (QZAP) is to establish a "living history" archive of past and present queer zines and to encourage current and emerging zine publishers to continue to create. The primary function of QZAP is to provide a free on-line searchable database of the collection with links allowing users to view or download electronic copies of zines so as to make them more accessible to diverse communities and reach wider audiences.
Tom of Finland Foundation Archives (Los Angeles)
The Tom of Finland Foundation is dedicated to protecting, preserving, and promoting erotic art. Its rapidly expanding Permanent Collection includes all manner of erotic artworks, by artists of all genders and sexual orientations.
Transgender Foundation of America Library and Transgender Archive (Houston)
Housed in Houston's Transgender Center, the Transgender Archive actively searches out and acquires transgender history. No other collection of transgender history is known to exist anywhere. The collection offers students, community members and supporters a unique opportunity to access centuries of information about the transgender community.
E-ZBorrow is a service that allows NYU users to search the combined catalogs of more than 50 research and academic libraries, and request books not available at NYU. E-ZBorrow is the fastest way to get a book not available from NYU Libraries.
The Manhattan Research Library Initiative (MaRLI) enables NYU and Columbia doctoral students, full-time faculty and librarians, and approved New York Public Library cardholders to borrow materials from all three institutions.